Empire of Illusion: The End of Literacy and the Triumph of Spectacle

    • 3.9 • 12 Ratings
    • $16.99

    • $16.99

Publisher Description

We now live in two Americas. One—now the minority—functions in a print-based, literate world that can cope with complexity and can separate illusion from truth. The other—the majority—is retreating from a reality-based world into one of false certainty and magic. To this majority—which crosses social class lines, though the poor are overwhelmingly affected—presidential debate and political rhetoric is pitched at a sixth-grade reading level. In this "other America," serious film and theater, as well as newspapers and books, are being pushed to the margins of society.

In the tradition of Christopher Lasch's The Culture of Narcissism and Neil Postman's Amusing Ourselves to Death, Pulitzer Prize winner Chris Hedges navigates this culture—attending WWF contests, the Adult Video News Awards in Las Vegas, and Ivy League graduation ceremonies—to expose an age of terrifying decline and heightened self-delusion.

GENRE
Nonfiction
NARRATOR
JY
Jonathan Yen
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
09:25
hr min
RELEASED
2018
April 10
PUBLISHER
Tantor Audio
SIZE
471.5
MB

Listeners Also Bought

2018
2016
2007
2016
2008
2018