• $9.99

Publisher Description

All her life, Katherine Keith has hungered for remote, wild places that fill her soul with freedom and peace. Her travels take her across America, but it is in the vast and rugged landscape of Alaska that she finds her true home. Alaska is known as a place where people disappear—at least a couple thousand go missing each year. But the same vast and rugged landscape that contributed to so many people being lost is precisely what has gotten her found.

She and her husband build a log cabin miles away from the nearest road and create a life of love. An idyllic existence, but with isolation and brutal living conditions can also come heartbreak. Chopping wood and hauling water are not just parts of a Zen proverb but a requirement for survival. Keith experiences tragic loss and must push on, with her infant daughter, alone in the Alaskan backcountry.

Long-distance dog sledding opens a door to a new existence. Racing across the state of Alaska offers the best of all worlds by combining raw wilderness with solitude and athleticism. The Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race, the “Last Great Race on Earth,” remains a true test of character and offers the opportunity to intimately explore the frontier that she has come to love.

With every thousand miles of winter trail traversed in total solitude, she confronts challenges that awaken internal demons, summoning all the inner grief and rage that lies dormant. In the tradition of Cheryl Strayed’s Wild and John Krakauer’s Into the Wild, Epic Solitude is the powerful and touching story of how one woman found her way—both despite and because of—the difficulties of living and racing in the remote wilderness.

GENRE
Biographies & Memoirs
NARRATOR
SM
Sarah Mollo-Christensen
LENGTH
09:13
hr min
RELEASED
2020
February 4
PUBLISHER
Blackstone Audio
LANGUAGE
EN
English
SIZE
478.4
MB

Customer Reviews

cleonard8134 ,

Incredible and inspiring

As someone who has lived in the Sierras my whole life, the descriptions the author used made me nostalgic for my own backyard. This book will tear you apart and make you want to break free from your monotonous day to find life.

SGATrailerpark ,

Buddhism???

Yeah, I’m not interested in hearing your belief in Buddhism, but I had purchased the book before knowing. I regret paying for this stupid audio book and if I could have my money back I’d prefer that as compared to this crap. I will never listen to anything from this person ever again and this purchase was a waist. It goes to show that you never know what your buying and it’s almost like the book app is concealing the crap in books and selling them to unsuspecting people who wouldn’t want to listen to crap like this book.

Listeners Also Bought