• $14.99

Publisher Description

*A Goodreads Choice Awards Finalist
*Named Best Comedy Book by the African American Literary Awards Show

Fans of Issa Rae and Phoebe Robinson will love this collection of laugh-out-loud funny and insightful essays that explore race, feminism, pop culture, and how society reinforces the message that we are nothing without the perfect body.

By the time Chloé Hilliard was 12, she wore a size 12—both shoe and dress—and stood over six feet tall. Fitting in was never an option. That didn’t stop her from trying. Cursed with a “slow metabolism,” “baby weight,” and “big bones,”—the fat trilogy—Chloe turned to fad diets, starvation, pills, and workouts, all of which failed.

Realizing that everything—from government policies to corporate capitalism—directly impacts our relationship with food and our waistlines, Chloé changed her outlook on herself and hopes others will do the same for themselves.

The perfect mix of cultural commentary, conspiracies, and confessions, F*ck Your Diet pokes fun at the all too familiar, misguided quest for better health, permanent weight loss, and a sense of self-worth.

GENRE
Comedy
NARRATOR
CH
Chloe Hilliard
LENGTH
09:15
hr min
RELEASED
2020
January 7
PUBLISHER
Simon & Schuster Audio
LANGUAGE
EN
English
SIZE
444.3
MB

Customer Reviews

Josey86 ,

Love everything about this book, apart from one sentence.

This book is a great look at all sorts of issues from body image, to intimate partner abuse, the Princess lie, the invisibility of black women, “fat” people with eating disorders, and even sex. It was funny and lighthearted, but didn’t hold any punches when it came to these heavy topics. It was refreshingly real and honest (even about the downsides of a vegan diet).

She covered food deserts and the shockingly low standards of American food. She talked about double standards for women and how those double standards are more like triple standards for black women. She even got into show business and plastic surgery. This woman knows what she’s talking about, but doesn’t rub your face in it. Her tone is exactly what you want for such serious topics all together. I seriously hope I can see her stand up the next time she can actually do gigs.

My only real complaint is that after all the self love, body positivity, she talked about how she’s found her equilibrium on the scale and in life, summing it up with “I’m not gross. I’m not perfect either.” So suddenly fat is “gross” and skinny is “perfect.” Maybe I misunderstood, but this seems to throw body positivity, self love, and self acceptance (the messages of this book) right out of the window. Still totally worth the read, but avoid that bit.

Listeners Also Bought