Fireside Gothic Fireside Gothic

Fireside Gothic

    • $19.99

    • $19.99

Publisher Description

From the No.1 bestselling author of The American Boy and The Ashes of London comes a collection of three gothic novellas – Broken Voices, The Leper House and The Scratch – perfect for fans of The Loney by Andrew Michael Hurley.

Three dark tales to read by the fireside in the cold winter months

BROKEN VOICES

It’s Christmas before the Great War and two lonely schoolboys have been left in the care of an elderly teacher. There is little to do but listen to his eerie tales about the nearby Cathedral. The boys concoct a plan to discover if the stories are true. But curiosity can prove fatal.

THE LEPER HOUSE

One stormy night, a man’s car breaks down. The only light comes from a remote cottage by the sea. The mysterious woman who lives there begs him to leave, yet the next day he feels compelled to return. But, the woman is nowhere to be seen. And neither is the cottage.

THE SCRATCH

Clare and Gerald live in the Forest of Dean with their cat, Cannop. Gerald’s young nephew, back from service in Afghanistan, comes to stay, with a scratch that won’t heal. Jack and Cannop don't like each other. Clare and Jack like each other too much. The scratch begins to fester.

Reviews

Praise for Fireside Gothic:

‘Spine tinglers that cry out to be read in the flickering light of a wood fire… Wonderfully atmospheric’ Kate Saunders, The Times

Praise for The Ashes of London

‘The Ashes of London presents a breathtakingly ambitious picture of an era… The multiple narrative strands are drawn together in a brilliantly orchestrated finale’ Financial Times

‘A complex weave of history and mystery and the first of a new series from Andrew Taylor’ The i

‘This is terrific stuff: intelligent, engrossing and, in its evocation of a long-vanished London, wonderfully plausible.’ Toby Clements, Daily Telegraph

‘A pacey story… Taylor masters the detail as well as the broader picture… A new Shardlake may be rising from the ashes’ The Times

‘Thrilling… Gripping, fast-moving and credible… It’s a well-constructed political thriller with moments of horror, admirable and enjoyable. Taylor has done his research so thoroughly as to be unobtrusive’ Spectator

‘The description of London in 1666, as the Great Fire is at last dying down, is unforgettable’ Literary Review

‘Finely wrought and solidly researched… The novel’s plot is fiendishly complex’ Sunday Telegraph

‘The Ashes of London is a chilling murder mystery and an equally transporting historical novel. A genuine pleasure from start to finish’ Peter Swanson

About the author

Andrew Taylor is the author of a number of crime novels, including the ground-breaking Roth Trilogy, which was adapted into the acclaimed TV drama Fallen Angel, and the historical crime novels The Ashes of London, The Silent Boy, The Scent of Death and The American Boy, a No.1 Sunday Times bestseller and a 2005 Richard & Judy Book Club Choice.

He has won many awards, including the CWA John Creasey New Blood Dagger, an Edgar Scroll from the Mystery Writers of America, the CWA Ellis Peters Historical Award (the only author to win it three times) and the CWA’s prestigious Diamond Dagger, awarded for sustained excellence in crime writing. He also writes for the Spectator.

He lives with his wife Caroline in the Forest of Dean.

GENRE
Fiction
NARRATOR
LP
Leighton Pugh
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
06:54
hr min
RELEASED
2016
November 3
PUBLISHER
HarperCollins
SIZE
212.8
MB

Listeners Also Bought

Ghost Stories, Volume 2 (Unabridged) Ghost Stories, Volume 2 (Unabridged)
2009
Ghost Stories, Volume One (Unabridged) Ghost Stories, Volume One (Unabridged)
2007