Before the Crown

    • 4.4 • 14 Ratings
    • $19.99

    • $19.99

Publisher Description

Before the crown there was a love story…

’If you’re a fan of The Crown, you’ll love this’ Woman’s Weekly

Windsor Castle, 1943

As war rages across the world, Princess Elizabeth comes face to face with the dashing naval officer she first met in London nine years before.

One of the youngest first lieutenants in the Royal Navy, Philip represents everything she has always been taught to avoid. Instability. Audacity. Adventure.

But when the king learns of their relationship, the suitability of the foreign prince is questioned by all at court.

He is the risk she has never been allowed to take. The risk not even the shadow of the crown will stop her from taking…

Step through the palace gates and discover a captivating historical novel of royal secrets and forbidden love exploring the tempestuous courtship between Princess Elizabeth and Prince Philip in the wake of WWII.

Readers are LOVING Before the Crown:

‘Magnificent. It carries so much depth and warmness, and closeness to the characters that you do not want to part from them…a page-turner’ Best Historical Fiction Reviews

‘To say that I adored this book is an absolute understatement. Beautifully written, well crafted and researched. A must read for fans of The Crown’ Kim

‘Any fans of The Crown will adore this read…the story is well researched and written so beautifully I didn't want it to end’ Lucy

‘What a pleasure it was to read this charming and heartfelt historical romance… never have I felt so romantically moved’ Jena

‘Magnificent… It carries so much depth and warmness, and closeness to the characters that you do not want to part from them’ Annette

‘I really enjoyed this book… Anyone who loved The Crown series will love this book!’ Pat

‘Perfect for fans of Netflix’s The Crown’ Elizabeth

‘This is the story that we ALL want to read…I loved every single page’ Vicki

Reviews

‘A wonderfully poignant love story involving characters whose lives we all think we know about’ Celia Anderson, bestselling author of 59 Memory Lane

‘I loved this story… it felt like a sneak peek into the Queen’s life’ Glynis Peters, USA Today-bestselling author of The Secret Orphan

About the author

Flora Harding began writing over 30 years ago to fund a PhD on the disposal of waste in Elizabethan York, and has juggled fact and fiction ever since. Under various pseudonyms she has written more than 75 novels, histories, and other forms of non-fiction and continues to be fascinated by the relationship between the past and the present, whatever she happens to be writing.

GENRE
Romance
NARRATOR
EK
Edward Killingback
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
09:41
hr min
RELEASED
2020
September 17
PUBLISHER
One More Chapter
SIZE
310.3
MB

Customer Reviews

Mandapere0922 ,

A wonderful Read

I want to start off by saying that when I put this book on my TBR list. I wanted to know very little when listening to this book. I love reading books that are about the Queen Elisabeth and Prince Philip.
This book was cute and interesting. I highly recommend the audiobook. It does go by quickly. This also the first book that I have read from this author. I will be reading more book from her. I wasn’t disappointed at all. The narrators did amazing job. I highly recommend this book if your into the royals.
About Book: I wont give to much away I think the reader should go into this book really knowing very little.
But this book is about Princess Elisabeth and Prince Philip and how they met. Philip trying to adjust to all the rules. In order to marry a future Queen.

Listeners Also Bought

2017
2018
2019
2013
2020
2018