Lady Tan's Circle of Women (Unabridged) Lady Tan's Circle of Women (Unabridged)

Lady Tan's Circle of Women (Unabridged‪)‬

    • 4.5 • 204 Ratings
    • $22.99

    • $22.99

Publisher Description

*NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER!*

From “one of those special writers capable of delivering both poetry and plot” (The New York Times Book Review) an immersive historical novel inspired by the true story of a woman physician in 15th-century China—perfect for fans of Lisa See’s classics Snow Flower and the Secret Fan and Tea Girl of Hummingbird Lane.

According to Confucius, “an educated woman is a worthless woman,” but Tan Yunxian—born into an elite family, yet haunted by death, separations, and loneliness—is being raised by her grandparents to be of use. Her grandmother is one of only a handful of female doctors in China, and she teaches Yunxian the pillars of Chinese medicine, the Four Examinations—looking, listening, touching, and asking—something a man can never do with a female patient.

From a young age, Yunxian learns about women’s illnesses, many of which relate to childbearing, alongside a young midwife-in-training, Meiling. The two girls find fast friendship and a mutual purpose—despite the prohibition that a doctor should never touch blood while a midwife comes in frequent contact with it—and they vow to be forever friends, sharing in each other’s joys and struggles. No mud, no lotus, they tell themselves: from adversity beauty can bloom.

But when Yunxian is sent into an arranged marriage, her mother-in-law forbids her from seeing Meiling and from helping the women and girls in the household. Yunxian is to act like a proper wife—embroider bound-foot slippers, recite poetry, give birth to sons, and stay forever within the walls of the family compound, the Garden of Fragrant Delights.

How might a woman like Yunxian break free of these traditions and lead a life of such importance that many of her remedies are still used five centuries later? How might the power of friendship support or complicate these efforts? A captivating story of women helping each other, Lady Tan’s Circle of Women is a triumphant reimagining of the life of one person who was remarkable in the Ming dynasty and would be considered remarkable today.

GENRE
Fiction
NARRATOR
JL
Jennifer Lim
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
13:15
hr min
RELEASED
2023
June 6
PUBLISHER
Simon & Schuster Audio
SIZE
639
MB

Customer Reviews

renatabrg ,

Beautiful

Beautiful story

sydgrigsby ,

wonderful read!

I loved this book and all I learned about Chinese medicine and history. The narrator also did a fabulous job!

edtammy ,

Can’t stop listening!

This audio book was so good! Great blend of historical fact and fiction with so many relatable details regarding a woman’s place in society, as well as our phases of life.

Listeners Also Bought

The Island of Sea Women (Unabridged) The Island of Sea Women (Unabridged)
2019
The Tea Girl of Hummingbird Lane (Unabridged) The Tea Girl of Hummingbird Lane (Unabridged)
2017
The Personal Librarian: A GMA Book Club Pick (A Novel) (Unabridged) The Personal Librarian: A GMA Book Club Pick (A Novel) (Unabridged)
2021
Horse: A Novel (Unabridged) Horse: A Novel (Unabridged)
2022
The Frozen River: A Novel (Unabridged) The Frozen River: A Novel (Unabridged)
2023
The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post: A Novel (Unabridged) The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post: A Novel (Unabridged)
2022