Lost Rider (Unabridged‪)‬

    • 4.3 • 3 Ratings
    • $16.99

    • $16.99

Publisher Description

In Lost Rider, the first Western romance in New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling author Harper Sloan’s Coming Home series, an injured rodeo star encounters an old flame but will she be just what he needs to get back in the saddle?

Maverick Austin Davis is forced to return home after a ten-year career as a rodeo star. After one too many head injuries, he’s off the circuit and in the horse farming business, something he’s never taken much of a shine to, but now that it’s his late father’s legacy, familial duty calls. How will Maverick find his way after the only dream he ever had for himself is over?

Enter Leighton Elizabeth James, an ugly duckling turned beauty from Maverick’s childhood—his younger sister’s best friend, to be exact, and someone whose heart he stomped all over when she confessed her crush to him ten years back. Now Leighton is back in Maverick’s life, no longer the insecure, love-stricken teen—and Maverick can’t help but take notice. Sparks fly between them, but will Leighton be able to open her heart to the one man who broke it all those years ago?

Written in the vein of Diana Palmer and Lindsay McKenna, this Texas-set series is filled with sizzle, heart, and plenty of cowboys!

GENRE
Romance
NARRATOR
EL
Elizabeth Louise
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
09:22
hr min
RELEASED
2017
April 25
PUBLISHER
Simon & Schuster Audio
SIZE
443.2
MB

Customer Reviews

glhince ,

the story was engaging and emotional, and the connection felt real, probable and right.

AudioBook Review:
Stars: Overall 4 Narration 4 Story 4

A more traditional-feeling second chance at romance title here, this was very much a character and relationship driven story, with plenty of time spent hearing interior voices of the characters, and finding the dual perspective gives a nice insight into each character that gave a solid basis to their choices and reasons. See, Maverick left town years ago with a dream – to be the best bull-rider the rodeo had ever seen. He was well on the way to it all: fame, fortune and notoriety when the next fall and head-first crash landing could be his last – and he needed to leave his rodeo dreams behind him to find something else. With the death of his father and the family ranch needing management, Mav comes back to town to try and adjust to a new career that he never wanted in a town he never intended to return to again.

Leighton was Maverick’s little sister Quinn’s best friend, and she’s always had a thing for Mav. But, before he left town intending to never return – he dismissed her and her feelings in the cruelest way possible – in public, intending to cause shame and humiliation thinking she’d move on. Well, all that shame behind her now, Leighton is all grown up, gorgeous, determined and never allowing another man in close again. And now, Maverick, the one she’s never quite forgotten is back in town……

This book carried a solid feel of ‘old school romance’ novels with a character driven plot where we see more of the characters thoughts and emotions than the more heated back and forth, chemistry off the charts steam that is prevalent today. Maverick was more than lucky with Leighton, she forgave him WAY too fast, and was more than willing to let him back into her life. He should have been far more open and forthcoming about the realizations he had regarding his bad behavior toward Leighton years back, and how that wore on him. But, even with that hiccup: the story was engaging and emotional, and the connection felt real, probable and right.

Narration for this story is provided by Elizabeth Louise and Jason Carpenter, and as a pair I truly enjoy these two together. Their voices and presentations play off nicely against one another, and each gave honor to each character’s emotions in dialogue and in the more introspective moments. Other secondary characters were clearly portrayed and presented, and the sweetness of a childhood crush growing into adulthood love was clear and present.

I received an AudioBook copy of the title from Simon and Schuster for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

Listeners Also Bought

2017
2017
2016
2016
2018
2017