• $19.99

Publisher Description

In a small North Carolina town, one man struggles to save his family after America loses a war that will send it back to the Dark Ages.

Already cited on the floor of Congress and discussed in the corridors of the Pentagon as a book all Americans should read, One Second After is the story of a war scenario that could become all too terrifyingly real. Based on a real weapon—the electromagnetic pulse (EMP)—which may already be in the hands of our enemies, it is a truly realistic look at the awesome power of a weapon that can destroy the entire United States, literally within one second.

In the tradition of On the Beach, Fail Safe, and Testament, this book, set in a typical American town, is a dire warning of what might be our future and our end.

GENRE
Fiction
NARRATOR
JB
Joe Barrett
LENGTH
13:18
hr min
RELEASED
2009
July 30
PUBLISHER
Blackstone Audio
LANGUAGE
EN
English
SIZE
647.7
MB

Customer Reviews

H&B Dad ,

Wow!

Don't read this book unless you want to spend the next few day's worrying about what you should be doing to prepare your family for the potential of an EMP attack! I have love Bill Forstchens books for years, but One Second After has opened a whole new level of appreciation for his work. Bill writes believable characters and a story that is rich in thought provoking narratives. I have been making lists of things I need to keep my family safe if what Bill's warns us about comes true. Scary stuff, but something we should all be made aware of.

ClevelandDanny ,

The Most Eye Opening Read Available

The realization that you wouldn't last more than a week or two without technology is more than enough reason to read this book. If you're looking for more reasons, the reader is particularly good and both he and the story had me on the edge of my seat from front to back. The blurb is right - every American should read this book... we could lose a war in exactly one second, and none of us are even remotely prepared.

ZFNorth ,

Republican publicity spoils it

An interesting concept that kept me going with well crafted pacing and lovable, if predictable, characters. Would have been a 3 or maybe even a 4. For me, the problem was this: In these kind of survival thriller, the science has to be pretty plausible for me to enjoy. I have to trust the author's research of that stuff. It was working for me for a while, until a few chapters. Then, when the characters are lamenting that the government wasn't prepared for an EMP attack, the author drops in this political talking point:

"If only we'd prepared for this, instead of spending all that time and money on global warming, which was only maybe a problem, though a lot of people think it isn't."

This kind of sell-out blows both the story and the scientific plausibility that I needed to enjoy the book. Oh well.

Listeners Also Bought