• $19.99

Publisher Description

“Fans of Lucas Davenport and Virgil Flowers will eat this up.” --Stephen King

For fans of THE MARTIAN, an extraordinary new thriller of the future from #1 New York Times–bestselling and Pulitzer Prize–winning author John Sandford and internationally known photo-artist and science fiction aficionado Ctein. 
 
Over the course of thirty-seven books, John Sandford has proven time and again his unmatchable talents for electrifying plots, rich characters, sly wit, and razor-sharp dialogue. Now, in collaboration with Ctein, he proves it all once more, in a stunning new thriller, a story as audacious as it is deeply satisfying.
 
The year is 2066. A Caltech intern inadvertently notices an anomaly from a space telescope—something is approaching Saturn, and decelerating. Space objects don’t decelerate. Spaceships do.
 
A flurry of top-level government meetings produces the inescapable conclusion: Whatever built that ship is at least one hundred years ahead in hard and soft technology, and whoever can get their hands on it exclusively and bring it back will have an advantage so large, no other nation can compete. A conclusion the Chinese definitely agree with when they find out.
 
The race is on, and an remarkable adventure begins—an epic tale of courage, treachery, resourcefulness, secrets, surprises, and astonishing human and technological discovery, as the members of a hastily thrown-together crew find their strength and wits tested against adversaries both of this earth and beyond. What happens is nothing like you expect—and everything you could want from one of the world’s greatest masters of suspense.

GENRE
Sci-Fi & Fantasy
NARRATOR
EC
Eric Conger
LENGTH
16:35
hr min
RELEASED
2015
October 6
PUBLISHER
Penguin Audio
LANGUAGE
EN
English
SIZE
515.3
MB

Customer Reviews

Gobows ,

Really got into this one

So different, and truly entertaining, hope he writes another one like it.

AeroBarc ,

Shallow characters and uninspiring plot

Interesting idea which was quickly scuttled by an utterly boring plot supported by annoying and shallow characters. I literally fell asleep at one point. Nevertheless I slogged through to the final parts, hoping for a major twist and complete redemption, only to be sorely disappointed by a comically stupid ending. Maybe my standards for sci-fi are high but there are so many truly excellent stories out there that take the reader so much further with grander visions and deeper plots. This one fell way short.

Cupcakes439 ,

Excellent

Excellent excellent excellent! Would love to see more of the same. What more can I say? Love that John Sandford.

Listeners Also Bought