• $16.99

Publisher Description

INSTANT NATIONAL BESTSELLER  *  A thrilling novel of the senses and a coming-of-age tale, following a small-town girl into the electrifying world of New York City and the education of a lifetime at one of the most exclusive restaurants in Manhattan.  Perfect for readers of Kitchen Confidential and Blood, Bones and Butter

Twenty-two, and knowing no one, Tess leaves home to begin her adult life in New York City. Thus begins a year that is both enchanting and punishing, in a low-level job at “the best restaurant in New York City.” Grueling hours and a steep culinary learning curve awaken her to the beauty of oysters, the finest Champagnes, the appellations of Burgundy. At the same time, she opens herself to friendships—and love—set against the backdrop of dive bars and late nights.  As her appetites sharpen—for food and wine, but also for knowledge, experience, and belonging—Tess is drawn into a darkly alluring love triangle that will prove to be her most exhilarating and painful lesson of all. 
 
Stephanie Danler deftly conjures the nonstop and purely adrenalized world of the restaurant—conversations interrupted, phrases overheard, and suggestions below the surface. Evoking the infinite possibility of being young in New York with heart-stopping accuracy, Sweetbitter is ultimately about the power of what remains after disillusionment, and the wisdom that comes from experience, sweet and bitter.

GENRE
Fiction
NARRATOR
AM
Alex McKenna
LENGTH
12:24
hr min
RELEASED
2016
May 24
PUBLISHER
Random House Audio
LANGUAGE
EN
English
SIZE
384.7
MB

Customer Reviews

fuitx ,

Htvsxefvd Ed go gVGhztffdt

Pjs hAcare nowhere ed yhy xvvof Jean

Literary Fan ,

Don't get what the fuss is about

While this captures a slice of NY life in the 80s, especially the high-end Union Square restuarant back-server gind, the drugs, the mis-spent youth; it was at best predictable with poor timing, flat characters, stereotypical scenes, and a slow arc that spend up at the end. I know that many critics love it, but I can't get behind it. Enough reading about the protagonist drinking too much, doing too many drugs, throwing up everywhere, and still excelling at her job, after comical mishaps.

Listeners Also Bought