The Extended Mind

    • 4.5 • 11 Ratings
    • $2.99

    • $2.99

Publisher Description

A New York Times Editors' Choice
A Washington Post Best Nonfiction Book of 2021
A New York Times Notable Book

A bold new book reveals how we can tap the intelligence that exists beyond our brains—in our bodies, our surroundings, and our relationships


Use your head.
 
That’s what we tell ourselves when facing a tricky problem or a difficult project. But a growing body of research indicates that we’ve got it exactly backwards. What we need to do, says acclaimed science writer Annie Murphy Paul, is think outside the brain. A host of “extra-neural” resources—the feelings and movements of our bodies, the physical spaces in which we learn and work, and the minds of those around us— can help us focus more intently, comprehend more deeply, and create more imaginatively.
 
The Extended Mind outlines the research behind this exciting new vision of human ability, exploring the findings of neuroscientists, cognitive scientists, psychologists, and examining the practices of educators, managers, and leaders who are already reaping the benefits of thinking outside the brain. She excavates the untold history of how artists, scientists, and authors—from Jackson Pollock to Jonas Salk to Robert Caro—have used mental extensions to solve problems, make discoveries, and create new works. In the tradition of Howard Gardner’s Frames of Mind or Daniel Goleman’s Emotional IntelligenceThe Extended Mind offers a dramatic new view of how our minds work, full of practical advice on how we can all think better.

GENRE
Nonfiction
NARRATOR
AMP
Annie Murphy Paul
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
11:26
hr min
RELEASED
2021
June 8
PUBLISHER
HarperAudio
SIZE
548.8
MB

Customer Reviews

ionw ,

Fabulously well researched and presented

I loved this book. It was impactful enough that I started some positive change habits before I finished the book.

The breadth of the net that Ms. Paul spread to gather the information contained in this book did not affect the depth of the knowledge. Each concept has it’s own section, and then is wrapped up with how the concepts work together. one of the best books I have read in some time.

Listeners Also Bought

2019
2020
2019
2019
2021
2020