• $19.99

Publisher Description

At the end of the world, a woman must hide her secret power and find her kidnapped daughter in this "intricate and extraordinary" Hugo Award winning novel of power, oppression, and revolution. (The New York Times)
This is the way the world ends...for the last time.
It starts with the great red rift across the heart of the world's sole continent, spewing ash that blots out the sun. It starts with death, with a murdered son and a missing daughter. It starts with betrayal, and long dormant wounds rising up to fester.

This is the Stillness, a land long familiar with catastrophe, where the power of the earth is wielded as a weapon. And where there is no mercy.

Read the first book in the critically acclaimed, three-time Hugo award-winning trilogy by NYT bestselling author N. K. Jemisin.

For more from N. K. Jemisin, check out:

The Inheritance Trilogy
The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms
The Broken Kingdoms
The Kingdom of Gods

The Inheritance Trilogy (omnibus edition)
Shades in Shadow: An Inheritance Triptych (e-only short fiction)
The Awakened Kingdom (e-only novella)

Dreamblood Duology
The Killing Moon
The Shadowed Sun

The Broken EarthThe Fifth SeasonThe Obelisk Gate

Sci-Fi & Fantasy
Robin Miles
hr min
August 4
Hachette Audio

Customer Reviews

Shalocs ,

Great Book, confusing with audio sometimes

I think this book is great and I love the world building going on and feel this would be great to have a physical copy of. My only issue was that in audiobook form some things and context just felt a little jumbled. Some terminology, because I can’t see the words etc., gets lost and I find myself relistening to understand. All in all though it’s a great story and I love the world I’ve dived into.

SSG Esch ,

Very Interesting Read

I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book despite being completely lost for the first few chapters. The author did a great job adding bits and pieces to the story in such a manner to keep the reader eagerly awaiting the next piece of the puzzle.

DysX ,

Just stunning!

The book by itself is amazing. The narrator makes it shimmer. Can’t wait to start the second!

Listeners Also Bought