• $12.99

Publisher Description

Everyone's invited...everyone's a suspect...

For fans of Ruth Ware and Tana French, a shivery, atmospheric, page-turning novel of psychological suspense in the tradition of Agatha Christie, in which a group of old college friends are snowed in at a hunting lodge . . . and murder and mayhem ensue.

All of them are friends. One of them is a killer.

During the languid days of the Christmas break, a group of thirtysomething friends from Oxford meet to welcome in the New Year together, a tradition they began as students ten years ago. For this vacation, they’ve chosen an idyllic and isolated estate in the Scottish Highlands—the perfect place to get away and unwind by themselves.

They arrive on December 30th, just before a historic blizzard seals the lodge off from the outside world.

Two days later, on New Year’s Day, one of them is dead.

The trip began innocently enough: admiring the stunning if foreboding scenery, champagne in front of a crackling fire, and reminiscences about the past. But after a decade, the weight of secret resentments has grown too heavy for the group’s tenuous nostalgia to bear. Amid the boisterous revelry of New Year’s Eve, the cord holding them together snaps.

Now one of them is dead . . . and another of them did it.

Keep your friends close, the old adage goes. But just how close is too close?

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
NARRATOR
GF
Gary Furlong
LENGTH
10:08
hr min
RELEASED
2019
February 12
PUBLISHER
HarperAudio
LANGUAGE
EN
English
SIZE
502.9
MB

Customer Reviews

Cvizzle1998 ,

Enjoyable

I was a little intimidated by the title, not sure what kind of gorey story I was about to listen to. But it wasn’t gorey at all. I enjoyed the way the book was told from various perspectives and it kept me guessing as to who was murdered and who did it near to the end. I liked the ending in the sense that justice was not evenly distributed or completely sought. Often books will have a happy ending and this one is not as conventional. (I gave this 4 stars instead of 5 because I am hot off reading The Wedding Guest by this author and I liked that one more.)

914dreamer ,

Loved it!

I liked this one even better than the previous Lucy Foley book I read! I had my suspicions but definitely didn’t figure this one out right away. I thought the main characters were well developed and there was just enough information about the secondary characters to keep them interesting.

nbgfft ,

Good read

Pretty good read

Listeners Also Bought