Audiobook 1 - Avalon

The Mists of Avalon(Avalon (Bradley)‪)‬

    • $29.99

    • $29.99

Publisher Description

In the tradition of T.H. White's The Once and Future King, the author makes use of the prerequisites of the Arthurian legend: Excalibur, the Holy Grail, Lancelet's illicit love for Gwenhwyfar, the destruction of Camelot, but with a twist--she presents the entire panoramic story from the female point of view. No passive by-standers, these earthy priestesses from Avalon literally breathe life into a musty, oft-told tale. In Book One: Mistress of Magic, the Lady of the Lake--Viviane--brings about the marriage of her younger sister Igraine to Uther Pendragon. Their only child, Arthur, is believed to be the last hope in the long standing war between Saxons and Romans. Meanwhile, Morgaine, Igraine's daughter by her first marriage to Gorlois, has come under the apprenticeship of Viviane at Avalon. In spite of her great love and hope for Morgaine, Viviane is driven by an unrelenting vision. Miserable, but duty-bound, she tricks Morgaine and Arthur into becoming lovers during the night of the ritual fires. Enraged and shamed by what her aunt has done, Morgaine plans to rid herself of the child that has resulted from their union. Book one ends with Arthur's coronation and Morgaine's decision to leave Avalon.

GENRE
Sci-Fi & Fantasy
NARRATOR
DP
Davina Porter
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
50:54
hr min
RELEASED
2012
June 15
PUBLISHER
Recorded Books, Inc.
SIZE
2.7
GB

Listeners Also Bought

2010
2010
2018
2019
2017
2014

Other Books in This Series

2010
2010
2010
2011
2007
2009