• $14.99

Publisher Description

A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

From USA TODAY bestselling author Stephen Graham Jones comes a “masterpiece” (Locus Magazine) of a novel about revenge, cultural identity, and the cost of breaking from tradition. Labeled “one of 2020’s buzziest horror novels” (Entertainment Weekly), this is a remarkable horror story that “will give you nightmares—the good kind of course” (BuzzFeed).

From New York Times bestselling author Stephen Graham Jones comes a novel that is equal parts psychological horror and cutting social commentary on identity politics and the American Indian experience. Fans of Jordan Peele and Tommy Orange will love this story as it follows the lives of four American Indian men and their families, all haunted by a disturbing, deadly event that took place in their youth. Years later, they find themselves tracked by an entity bent on revenge, totally helpless as the culture and traditions they left behind catch up to them in a violent, vengeful way.

GENRE
Fiction
NARRATOR
ST
Shaun Taylor-Corbett
LENGTH
08:37
hr min
RELEASED
2020
July 14
PUBLISHER
Simon & Schuster Audio
LANGUAGE
EN
English
SIZE
446.9
MB

Customer Reviews

lizzie3890 ,

Utterly Chilling

Stephen Graham Jones has truly outdone himself with this book. I particularly enjoy books where the “bad guy” actually has kind of good motives. The writer’s style works so well with an audiobook, it’s almost like slam poetry in its rhythm. “Mongrels” is next on my list!

SpookyGoldfish ,

Amazing and Agonizing

This book is one of the most powerful and painful books I’ve ever had the pleasure of experiencing. I don’t really know how to write a review on how I feel without spoiling anything.

It’s astonishing, simply put.

Arikalth ,

Wanted to like it but...

It was more of a drama than a horror. A sort of study on Native American angst and victimhood. Artsy and mild are the only descriptions I have for the story and the reader’s journey.

Listeners Also Bought

2018
2015
2014
2020
2019
2020