The People’s Princess The People’s Princess

The People’s Princess

    • 4.5 • 2 Ratings
    • $2.99

    • $2.99

Publisher Description

Step behind the palace doors in this gripping historical novel that is a must read for fans of The Crown and Princess Diana!

Buckingham Palace, 1981

Her engagement to Prince Charles is a dream come true for Lady Diana Spencer but marrying the heir to the throne is not all that it seems. Alone and bored in the palace, she resents the stuffy courtiers who are intent on instructing her about her new role as Princess of Wales…

But when she discovers a diary written in the 1800s by Princess Charlotte of Wales, a young woman born into a gilded cage so like herself, Diana is drawn into the story of Charlotte’s reckless love affairs and fraught relationship with her father, the Prince Regent.

As she reads the diary, Diana can see many parallels with her own life and future as Princess of Wales.

The story allows a behind-the-scenes glimpse of life in the palace, the tensions in Diana’s relationship with the royal family during the engagement, and the wedding itself.

Praise for Flora Harding:

‘If you’re a fan of The Crown, you’ll love this’ Woman’s Weekly

‘Fascinating…a beautiful love story’ Woman

‘Magnificent. It carries so much depth and warmness, and closeness to the characters that you do not want to part from them…a page-turner’ Best Historical Fiction Reviews

Reviews

‘A wonderfully poignant love story involving characters whose lives we all think we know about’ Celia Anderson, bestselling author of 59 Memory Lane

‘I loved this story… it felt like a sneak peek into the Queen’s life’ Glynis Peters, USA Today-bestselling author of The Secret Orphan

‘To say that I adored this book is an absolute understatement. Beautifully written, well crafted and researched. A must read for fans of The Crown’ Kim

‘Any fans of The Crown will adore this read…the story is well researched and written so beautifully I didn't want it to end’ Lucy

‘What a pleasure it was to read this charming and heartfelt historical romance… never have I felt so romantically moved’ Jena

‘Magnificent… It carries so much depth and warmness, and closeness to the characters that you do not want to part from them’ Annette

‘I really enjoyed this book… Anyone who loved The Crown series will love this book!’ Pat

‘Perfect for fans of Netflix’s The Crown’ Elizabeth

‘This is the story that we ALL want to read…I loved every single page’ Vicki

About the author

Flora Harding began writing over 30 years ago to fund a PhD on the disposal of waste in Elizabethan York, and has juggled fact and fiction ever since. Under various pseudonyms she has written more than 75 novels, histories and other forms of non-fiction and continues to be fascinated by the relationship between the past and the present, whatever she happens to be writing.

GENRE
Fiction
NARRATOR
JT
Julie Teal
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
09:28
hr min
RELEASED
2022
March 31
PUBLISHER
One More Chapter
SIZE
567.9
MB

Customer Reviews

akbaird ,

A Fun Read

A Historical Fiction book that explores Princess Diana’s life starting with her engagement to Prince Charles and ending with her wedding day! Diana becomes interested in learning more about Princess Charlotte by seeing her portrait at Buckingham Palace, so she asks Prince Charles about her. He tells her what he knows, but has a historian tell her more. The historian gives her Princess Charlotte’s Diary to read. This book alternates between Princess Diana’s life and Princess Charlotte’s Diary. In this book, Princess Diana points out similarities of her life to Princess Charlotte.

Clearly a well researched book! I loved how this author chose to write about two Princess’s who lived in different Era’s, but their lives had many parallels.

Perfect book for those who love to read about the Royals or are fans of TV series,The Crown.

Listeners Also Bought

Shifting Calder Wind: Calder Saga, Book 7 (Unabridged) Shifting Calder Wind: Calder Saga, Book 7 (Unabridged)
2023
Green Calder Grass: Calder Saga, Book 6 (Unabridged) Green Calder Grass: Calder Saga, Book 6 (Unabridged)
2023
Calder Promise: Calder Saga, Book 8 (Unabridged) Calder Promise: Calder Saga, Book 8 (Unabridged)
2023
Santa in Montana: Calder Saga, Book 11 (Unabridged) Santa in Montana: Calder Saga, Book 11 (Unabridged)
2023
Watching (The Making of Riley Paige—Book 1) Watching (The Making of Riley Paige—Book 1)
2018
Before he Kills (A Mackenzie White Mystery—Book 1) Before he Kills (A Mackenzie White Mystery—Book 1)
2016