The Runaway Children

    • $16.99

    • $16.99

Publisher Description

A heart-warming historical novel about surviving against the odds and finding a family, from top 10 bestseller Lindsey Hutchinson.

In two rundown houses, at the side of a barren heath, live six children with no family but each other. Abandoned or orphaned, every day is a fight to find food and keep warm. But they are determined to stay free of the clutches of the workhouse and the horrors that would face them if they were ever torn apart.

Dora Parsons lives with her mother Mary and her evil grandmother Edith. Edith’s house may be comfortable and warm, and food is plentiful, but every day Dora suffers at the hands of her spiteful gran. Desperate to protect her child, Mary longs to run away but she has no money to keep them alive and nowhere else to call home.

When fate intervenes and Mary and Dora meet the children, events are set in train that will change all their lives forever. But will the friends find peace and comfort at last, or does the chill of the winter signal the most desperate ending of all…

The top 10 best-seller is back with a heart-breaking, page-turning story of survival, friendship and what it means to be a family. Perfect for fans of Catherine Cookson, Val Wood and Lyn Andrews.

Praise for Lindsey Hutchinson:

'A great story with a great mix of characters, well written and keeps you hooked with each page turn!' Sarah Davies, NetGalley

'A wonderful read ... The author writes so well, it's a really hard novel to put down!' Grace Smith, NetGalley.

'Make sure to read this book where you won't be disturbed because once it gets going, you won't want to put it down' Andrea Ruiz, NetGalley

'A very poignant, feel-good-factor novel' Shelia Easson, NetGalley

'Excellent story!' Stephanie Collins, NetGalley

'The story will linger in your mind long after you finish it' The Avid Reader

GENRE
Fiction
NARRATOR
AA
Annie Aldington
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
07:55
hr min
RELEASED
2022
February 10
PUBLISHER
Boldwood Books
SIZE
318
MB