The Woman Before Wallis The Woman Before Wallis

The Woman Before Wallis

    • 4.2 • 29 Ratings
    • $19.99

    • $19.99

Publisher Description

“Brimming with scandal and an equal amount of heart…a sweeping yet intimate look at the lives of some of history’s most notorious figures from Vanderbilts to the Prince of Wales… A must-read.”—Chanel Cleeton, New York Times bestselling author of When We Left Cuba and Next Year in Havana

“Bryn Turnbull takes a story we think we know and turns it on its head, with captivating results… A beautifully written, meticulously researched and altogether memorable debut.”—Jennifer Robson, USA TODAY bestselling author of The Gown

For fans of The Paris Wife and The Crown, this stunning novel tells the true story of the American divorcée who captured Prince Edward’s heart before he abdicated his throne for Wallis Simpson.

In the summer of 1926, when Thelma Morgan marries Viscount Duke Furness after a whirlwind romance, she’s immersed in a gilded world of extraordinary wealth and privilege. For Thelma, the daughter of an American diplomat, her new life as a member of the British aristocracy is like a fairy tale—even more so when her husband introduces her to Edward, Prince of Wales.

In a twist of fate, her marriage to Duke leads her to fall headlong into a love affair with Edward. But happiness is fleeting, and their love is threatened when Thelma’s sister, Gloria Morgan Vanderbilt, becomes embroiled in a scandal with far-reaching implications. As Thelma sails to New York to support Gloria, she leaves Edward in the hands of her trusted friend Wallis, never imagining the consequences that will follow.

Bryn Turnbull takes readers from the raucous glamour of the Paris Ritz and the French Riviera to the quiet, private corners of St. James’s Palace in this sweeping story of love, loyalty and betrayal.

Looking for more sweeping historical fiction? Don't miss Bryn Turnbull's new novel. The Last Grand Duchess takes readers behind palace walls to see the end of Imperial Russia through the eyes of Olga Romanov, the first daughter of the last Tsar.

GENRE
Fiction
NARRATOR
MJW
Mary Jane Wells
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
11:24
hr min
RELEASED
2020
July 21
PUBLISHER
Harlequin Audio
SIZE
561.1
MB

Customer Reviews

Shopgirl@pro ,

Miss Wells should do her homework

A well written book poorly narrated by a no nothing narrator.
Like fingernails on a chalkboard I had to listen to her say THelma all through her narrative. It’s Telma in the Spanish style.
Schaparelli is SCaparelli. And many more.
This is what a poor narrator and recording team can do to an otherwise pretty good book.

Listeners Also Bought

American Duchess American Duchess
2019
The Social Graces (Unabridged) The Social Graces (Unabridged)
2021
The Queen's Secret The Queen's Secret
2020
The Real Wallis Simpson (Unabridged) The Real Wallis Simpson (Unabridged)
2019
The Chanel Sisters The Chanel Sisters
2020
The Royal Nanny The Royal Nanny
2020