• $4.99

Publisher Description

Perfect for fans of Michael Connelly or Nevada Barr, this gripping Layla Remington thriller from International Thriller Writers Award finalist Gil Reavill plunges readers beneath the glittering façade of Hollywood and into a terrifying underworld where beautiful women can just . . . disappear.
 
Malibu is crumbling. A monster earthquake has just ripped apart some of the priciest real estate on the planet. In a bizarre twist, it has also unearthed a grim secret buried for years beneath one particularly unstable hilltop: a steel barrel containing the mummified remains of Tarin Mistry, the beautiful starlet who went missing more than a decade ago. When Detective Investigator Layla Remington looks into that wretched metal coffin, she realizes she’s just landed the case of a lifetime.
 
But before Layla even strips off her latex gloves, a pair of hotshot LAPD detectives arrive on the scene and remove her from the investigation. Undeterred, she pursues her own line of inquiry. Risking her badge and her life, Layla’s determination to track down Tarin’s murderer takes her from the rarified air of exclusive canyon communities to seedy downtown sex clubs and the secluded lair of one of Hollywood’s most powerful men. But while Tarin’s case may be cold, her killer is poised to strike again—and in Layla, this depraved sociopath may have just found fresh prey.

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2015
August 18
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
274
Pages
PUBLISHER
Random House Publishing Group
SELLER
Penguin Random House LLC
SIZE
2.5
MB

Customer Reviews

SudukuSue ,

WOW

This novel takes the reader deeply into the Hollywood S & M scene. Parts of it are quite disturbing while others are simply tawdry. It is well written and always holds the reader's interest. There are enough twists and turns to satisfy the most jaded reader. Hopefully the areas described are more fiction than fact, but after reading this, one wonders.

Thanks to Alibi and Net Galley for the advance copy given for an honest review.

Kayak Jay ,

The Intensity Necer Lets Up

Layla Remington finds the body of a young movie star missing for 11 years, and it leads into an investigation that pits her against sexist cops, a major movie producer, and evil in the form of domination masters. The problems multiply and Layla is dragged into being a victim herself. Although the topic is distasteful, the violence is not graphic, and the squeamish can still enjoy a fascinating thriller. The writing is brilliant, and the mystery is not solved until the very end. The intensity never lets up.

Bed deb 2012 ,

Definitely kept me entertained.

I thought this book was a pretty good one. It kept me engaged throughout the whole book. There were a couple of times that I thought Layla was doing some really stupid stuff like not waiting for back up. And guess what? She gets hit over the head or something. That was asinine. However, that does just keep your heart pumping a little faster. But as a whole, I didn't get bogged down with filler, the characters seemed real and the story flowed pretty well.

There is no way I would have guessed the ending as there were several secrets that came out in the end. I would definitely recommend this book

Thanks Random House/Alibi and Net Galley for providing me with this free e-galley in exchange for an honest review.

More Books by Gil Reavill

Other Books in This Series