• $9.99

Publisher Description

Boston Detective D.D. Warren faces her most brutal adversaries yet—a class of jaded thriller writers—in this short story from #1 New York Times Bestselling Author Lisa Gardner.

Detective D.D. Warren takes on her most intimidating assignment yet: a fifty-minute class meant to educate a horde of bloodthirsty thriller writers on the ways of actual police work. Yet sometimes life really does imitate fiction, as D.D. takes the writers through the reality of one of her most twisted cases—a case that involves a seedy motel room, drugs, prostitution...and a severed leg.
With Gardner’s trademark suspense, sharp observations, and thrilling storytelling, Three Truths and a Lie is a fascinating chapter in D.D.’s storied career.

Includes an excerpt of Lisa Gardner’s shocking New York Times bestseller Find Her.

Mysteries & Thrillers
January 5
Penguin Publishing Group

Customer Reviews

Kris Anderson, The Avid Reader ,

Great Novella!

Three Truths and a Lie by Lisa Gardner is a wonderful mystery novella. Detective D.D. Warren has been asked to speak at the yearly Writers Police Academy in Wisconsin. She is to provide details on what a homicide detective really does during a day (or a case). The speech is titled Guide to Policing. Her husband, Alex Wilson talked her into coming to the conference. There is an old game called three truths and a lie. She is going to tell the details about a case and the class has to guess what the lie is (and we get to figure out who the killer is).

Three Truths and a Lie is wonderful. I read it straight through. It is well-written and engaging. It has a great flow (pace). I thought the mystery was easy to solve but I loved it. The author provided great clues for the reader. I give Three Truths and a Lie 5 out of 5 stars. This was my first book by Lisa Gardner, but I will definitely be reading more of her books (especially about D.D. Warren). Lisa Gardner gives us an interesting character.

I received a complimentary copy of Three Truths and a Lie from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

More Books by Lisa Gardner

Other Books in This Series