• $9.99

Publisher Description

A Collection of Essays by Steven Colborne includes 12 essays which tackle many of the major problems of philosophy and theology.

The following essays are included in this volume:

A Listener-Centred, Dialectical Model for Popular Music Analysis
Heraclitus and the Nature of Change
The Schopenhauerian Concept of Will
The Soul in Christianity and Platonism
George Eliot and Feuerbach on God and the Good
Karl Rahner's Anthropology
Karl Barth's Doctrine of Election
The Trinity and Suffering
A Letter to George Eliot about God and the Good
God and Suffering: Approaches and Issues
An Almighty Predicament: A Discourse on the Arguments For and Against Christianity
The Only Question You Ever Need Ask

The opening essay in this volume is Colborne's first-class undergraduate dissertation, written during his final year of study at the University of Westminster. The essay presents a radical approach to music analysis.

The majority of the included essays were written during Colborne's postgraduate studies at Heythrop College, University of London. The Heythrop essays include a discussion of the nature of the human soul, as well as various discourses related to the subject of suffering. Colborne also examines the ideas of several important figures in Western philosophy, including Plato, Heraclitus, and Schopenhauer. The ideas of various contemporary writers and theologians are also explored, including Karl Rahner, Karl Barth, George Eliot, and others.

The final two essays in this volume are what might be referred to as Colborne's 'mature' essays. These essays, written between 2017 and 2020, offer profound insights into the divine sovereignty versus human free will predicament with specific reference to Christian theology. As with so much of Colborne's work, the problem of suffering is a key focus.

This book presents some of Colborne's finest work, and readers will finish the book having gained a thorough understanding of Colborne's philosophical worldview and most important academic contributions.

June 15
Tealight Books
Draft2Digital, LLC

More Books by Steven Colborne