• $2.99

Publisher Description

‘I was totally captivated from the very beginning… Many times, I was holding my breath… I can’t praise this book enough.’ Goodreads Reviewer ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️


Fen bit her bottom lip. She was onto something all right. Arthur had sent her a message from beyond the grave. There was more to his death than they were telling her. Would she ever find him?


England, 1944. On a clear autumn morning in late September, time stops for Fen Churche. Waiting on the scrubbed farmhouse table for her is a letter from her cherished Arthur Melville-Hare, a brave, blue-eyed captain who was shipped off to war. Through her tears, she knows what it means – she will never see her fiancé again.


As she reads his last letter, she realises something the War Office didn’t: Fen and Arthur shared a love of crosswords, and he’s left her clever clues to his disappearance.


Desperate to find out what happened to the love of her life, she sets off for France, travelling to his last posting: a quaint village, surrounded by vineyards. But darkness lies beneath the charming surface of this countryside town, and when the beloved priest and the son of a local wine maker are found dead, it’s clear that someone wants to keep wartime secrets buried.


Can Fen stay alive long enough to find out the truth?


A totally gripping story of war, mystery, espionage and murder. Fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Charles Todd and Rhys Bowen will absolutely adore this unputdownable World War Two murder mystery.


Readers are addicted to A Dangerous Goodbye!

Nail-biting suspense and powerful emotion… A marvellous treat for historical mystery fans… A compulsively readable thriller that has me waiting with bated breath for the next.’ Bookish Jottings ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️


A wonderful historical mystery and a fantastic start to a new series.’ Goodreads Reviewer ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️


‘The plot is intriguing and filled with mystery, spies, lies, romance, murder and more!!!Kept me guessing throughout.’ Goodreads Reviewer


A perfect historical mystery! What a beginning!I could not put this book down and look forward to more from Ms. Chester.’ Goodreads Reviewer


‘A brilliantly entertaining murder mystery… Full of lies, spies, murder, romance, mystery and so much more. Bursting at the seams!Sharon Beyond the Books


I read raptly to the end, unaware that a summer storm poured outside. Can’t wait ’til book two!’ Goodreads Reviewer ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️


‘I needed to know who the killer was, I just kept reading. House chores? No time for that!’ NetGalley Reviewer

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2020
August 20
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
322
Pages
PUBLISHER
Bookouture
SELLER
StoryFire Ltd
SIZE
2.6
MB

Customer Reviews

ed 3.1624 ,

A Dangerous Goodbye

Greatly enjoyed this book!

CarolinaRosemary ,

A Dangerous Gooodbye

Very good read! Loved the story and the ending was dear. Recommend it.

Old guy in Fla ,

A Dangerous Goodbye by Fliss Chester

WOW‼️. What a fabulous story of a British couple separated by WWII! Fen does her part for the war effort by living & working on a farm with other women to keep food on the tables of fellow Brits - it was after VE Day that the mystery begins. Fen receives a letter from her fiancé saying he is gone if she has the letter! Heartbreak takes over, but Fen pulls herself together, & following Arthur’s clues, travels to a little village in France where she meets his partner, James, & other residents of a winery chateau. They are resistance fighters - except one, a betrayer & murderer! Fen has to know what happened to Arthur & who was responsible for his death! Ms Chester beautifully describes the countryside, the winery & the different characters & following more clues left by her crossword loving fiancé, she & James figure out whodunit‼️. There are so many twists & turns & page turning action to grab & hold your interest till the end! This is a must read to satisfy your love of WWII based novels! Get your copy & begin many hours of reading pleasure!

Carol R.
Florida USA