• $13.99

Publisher Description

For fans of Kathleen Barber and Julia Heaberlin comes a chilling psychological suspense from award-winning author Jen Williams about a woman who discovers her late mother had a decades-long secret correspondence with a serial killer, begging the question: how well do we know our own family and even ourselves?

When prodigal daughter Heather Evans returns to her family home after her mother's baffling suicide, she makes an alarming discovery--stacks and stacks of carefully preserved letters from notorious serial killer Michael Reave. The "Red Wolf," as he was dubbed by the press, has been in prison for over twenty years, serving a life sentence for the gruesome and ritualistic murders of several women across the country, although he has always protested his innocence. The police have had no reason to listen, yet Heather isn't the only one to have cause to re-examine the murders. The body of a young woman has just been found, dismembered and placed inside a tree, the corpse planted with flowers. Just as the Red Wolf once did.

What did Heather's mother know? Why did she kill herself? And with the monstrous Red Wolf safely locked inside a maximum security prison, who is stalking young women now? Teaming up with DI Ben Parker, Heather hopes to get some answers for herself and for the newest victims of this depraved murderer. Yet to do that, she must speak to Michael Reave herself, and expose herself to truths she may not be ready to face. Something dark is walking in the woods, and it knows her all too well.

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2021
June 8
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
304
Pages
PUBLISHER
CROOKED LANE BOOKS
SELLER
Penguin Random House LLC
SIZE
1.3
MB

Customer Reviews

MrsM22 ,

Grimm, stunning!

Please do yourself a favor and pick this one up! I particularly enjoyed the audiobook; the narrator did a great job depicting the character's personalities, hooking me from the very beginning to the stunning finale!! While the story mainly focuses on the MC Heather coming to terms with her mother's suicide {TW} and on how much she didn't know about her mother’s past, my favorite bits where the insights the author gives her readers on Michael’s past and their prison visits. I picked up on a couple of the reveals, but the major ones completely took me by surprise! Also, I especially enjoyed the Grimm Fairy Tale retellings! I'd recommend this book to all thriller lovers! That ending, wow!

TheScarringScarlett ,

Haunting...

Haunting, is what I would use to describe this book. It is definitely a thriller with lots of twists and turns that keeps you reading. Williams creates a new level to this genre by creating a story based on serial killers, family relationships, dark fairytales, and British folklore. And while there are gory parts that can be hard to handle, I thought it was a great read. Even though I am now currently afraid of the dark again!

More Books by Jen Williams