A Daughter's Price

A gritty and gripping saga romance from the bestselling author of A Shilling for a Wife

    • 3.7 • 10 Ratings
    • $4.99
    • $4.99

Publisher Description

**Don't miss Emma Hornby's gripping new wartime saga, A DAUGHTER'S WAR - out now**

----------------------------

She thought she was finally safe. But a roof over her head comes with a price to pay...

Laura Cannock is on the run. Suspected of killing her bullying husband, his family are on a merciless prowl for revenge. Fleeing from her beloved home of Bolton to Manchester, Laura seeks refuge with her coal merchant uncle. But it soon becomes clear that a roof over her head comes with a price - of the type so unbearable she must escape once more.

Destitute and penniless, a stench-ridden housing court in the back streets of the factories is Laura's only hope of a dwelling - a place where both the filth and the kindness of neighbours overwhelm. Here people stick together through the odds, leading Laura to true friendship, and possibly love. But with the threat of her past still hanging over her, there's still one battle she must fight - and win - alone...

A gritty and page-turning historical saga set in Northern England in the late 1800s, perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Rosie Goodwin.

----------------------------------------

Readers love Emma Hornby:

'Similar to Rosie Goodwin and Dilly Court, Emma Hornby tells a brilliant story that will keep you guessing with twists and turns. Pure talent.'

'Emma Hornby's books just keep getting better and better. Honest, gritty, lovely characters.'

'Keep writing Emma, you are very talented and can't wait for your next book. I've read them all.'

'Emma is a wonderful storyteller and I can't wait for the next one!'

'Thank you again Emma Hornby for a captivating read'

'Another beautifully written story by Emma Hornby'

GENRE
Romance
RELEASED
2020
March 19
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
384
Pages
PUBLISHER
Transworld
SELLER
The Random House Group Limited
SIZE
8.5
MB

More Books by Emma Hornby

2021
2018
2016
2017
2019
2021

Customers Also Bought

2014
2020
2019
2012
2018
2016