A History of the World Through Body Parts A History of the World Through Body Parts

A History of the World Through Body Parts

The Stories Behind the Organs, Appendages, Digits, and the Like Attached to (or Detached from) Famous Bodies

    • 4.2 • 5 Ratings
    • $11.99
    • $11.99

Publisher Description

A grab bag of historic spleens, chins, and more, this is your ultimate literary dissection of body parts throughout history!

From famous craniums to prominent breasts, ancient spleens and bound feet, this book will bring history to life in a whole new way. With their inimitable wit and probing intelligence, authors Kathy and Ross Petras look at the role the human body has played throughout history as each individual part becomes a jumping-off point for a wider look at the times. In far-ranging, quirky-yet-interrelated stories, learn about Charles II of Spain's jaw and the repercussions of inbreeding, what Anne Boleyn's heart says about the Crusades and the trend of dispersed burials, and what can be learned about the Aztecs through Moctezuma's pierced lip. A History of the World Through Body Parts is packed with fascinating little-known historical facts and anecdotes that will entertain, enlighten, and delight even the most well-read history buff.

BESTSELLING AUTHORS: Kathy and Ross Petras have authored the New York Times bestseller You're Saying It Wrong and the hit calendar The 365 Stupidest Things Ever Said, now in its 24th year with over 4.8 million copies sold!

ENGAGING CONTENT: Packed with rich material told with a lively and humorous voice, take a trip through history in this unique, exciting way.

QUIRKY HISTORY FANS REJOICE!: For fans of The Disappearing Spoon, Wicked Plants, The Violinist's Thumb, The Sawbones Book and Strange Histories!

Perfect for:

• History buffs and pop history fans
• Father's Day, birthday, and holiday shoppers

  • GENRE
    Humor
    RELEASED
    2022
    August 30
    LANGUAGE
    EN
    English
    LENGTH
    256
    Pages
    PUBLISHER
    Chronicle Books LLC
    SELLER
    Chronicle Books LLC
    SIZE
    26.9
    MB

    More Books Like This

    The Book Of Lists The Book Of Lists
    2009
    Uncle John's Bathroom Reader Plunges into History Again Uncle John's Bathroom Reader Plunges into History Again
    2012
    Most Interesting Most Interesting
    2011
    A People's History of the Peculiar A People's History of the Peculiar
    2014
    Certitude Certitude
    2009
    The Onion Book of Known Knowledge The Onion Book of Known Knowledge
    2012

    Customers Also Bought

    The Philosophy Book The Philosophy Book
    2019
    You Are Here You Are Here
    2009
    How Long Is Now? How Long Is Now?
    2016
    Strange History Strange History
    2016
    We Did That? We Did That?
    2020
    Neurogastronomy Neurogastronomy
    2011