Publisher Description

"A real treat, highly recommended for its fine attention to both detail and the psyches of investigators who confront themselves as much as the threat at hand." ~Midwest Book Review

Laurel Falls, N.C., 1985: I was done with being a crime reporter in Washington, D.C., tired of all the violence. So I packed up and moved to the small town of Laurel Falls, N.C. It looked like heaven to me—ancient mountains brimming with tall trees and songbirds, peace and quiet. Until I found the body.

The sheriff took the easy path, calling it a suicide. No way. I'd found that young woman, and I knew she hadn't taken her own life. I'd spent my whole career searching for the truth, and I wasn't about to stop now. Trouble was, without my usual sources, how much of a murder investigation could I pull off?

But a special kid lived next door. Abit Bradshaw, a teenager struggling to find his rightful place in the world. Hey, I knew all about that. I'd never fitted in either, but eventually I'd found something I was good at. I figured he just needed a chance too. And he got one when we teamed up to solve that crime. Along the way, we sure met some interesting characters—both bad and good. We had a plan, and we worked it hard to find that killer before we became the next victims. Looking back, I should've known plans rarely pan out the way you think. ~Della Kincaid

You'll love this suspenseful story because who doesn't dream of second chances?

Find out why critics and readers are praising Lynda McDaniel's unique voice in mystery novels.

Get it now.

A Life for a Life is the first novel in the Appalachian Mountain Mysteries series by award-winning author Lynda McDaniel. If you like atmospheric settings, fascinating characters, and suspenseful investigations, you'll love this series. 

Interview with the Author
Q: What makes the Appalachian Mountain Mysteries Series so special?
A: In addition to the suspense of a good mystery, each book includes people and stories from the years I spent on my "back to the land" farm in Appalachia. You'll meet a gentle giant of a beekeeper with an abiding love for his family, and Cleva Hall, who's based on a woman who taught me how to put food by. But especially Abit Bradshaw, one of the amateur sleuths along with Della Kincaid. Abit started in a supporting role, but I listened to my readers and gave him a starring role in the rest of the series. This book and the next--The Roads to Damascus--are coming-of-age stories for Abit.

Q: Why should readers give these books a try?
A: Readers who prefer suspense without over-the-top violence will enjoy this series. I write in the British style, where the dastardly deed is done off stage; (similar in that way to cozy mysteries). I don't like mounting body bags, but I do enjoy the chase for justice. In addition to the crimes, readers will find vivid mountain settings, colorful characters, sharp wit, good food, and a touch of romance.

Q: In what order were the books written?
A Life for a Life
The Roads to Damascus
Welcome the Little Children
Murder Ballad Blues
Deep in the Forest

"REMINDS ME OF To Kill a Mockingbird. You are a treasure as a writer." ~J. M. Grayson

"EXCELLENT. EXCELLENT. EXCELLENT. Lynda McDaniel has the gift of putting the reader right there in her stories with characters that grab ahold of your heart strings and take you into their world page after page."  ~L. Judd  

Mysteries & Thrillers
August 15
Lynda McDaniel
Draft2Digital, LLC

Customer Reviews

sandi swine ,

A Life For A Life

I also live in the beautiful mountains of North Carolina, (Bakersville) so that was what first drew me to this book. I loved the story! I felt a connection to the characters, and know exactly what the people are like in these small towns- friendly, gossipy, caring for one another.
Enjoyed the story, and hope to read more!

Slvilove ,

Great book

Awesome and interesting read

Barnzart ,

An interesting read...

I have always had a fondness for young ones... and Abit was a fun character to read about. Thank you.

More Books by Lynda McDaniel

Other Books in This Series