A New Start for the Wrens A New Start for the Wrens
Book 1 - The Wrens

A New Start for the Wrens

A compelling and heartwarming WW2 saga

    • 4.5 • 13 Ratings
    • $3.99
    • $3.99

Publisher Description

**Winner of the RNA Saga Award 2023**

Are these newly trained Wrens ready to protect Britain’s coastline?

Following a humiliating experience involving the man she thought she’d marry, Iris Tredwick signs up to the Wrens in order to escape and find ‘the right sort’ of man to please her mother. After a bumpy start, Iris manages to befriend outspoken Mary and dreamer Sally as they are sent to their first posting – in Orkney.

There she meets mechanic Rob, whose flirtatious nature both charms and confounds straight-laced Iris. Much more appropriate for her is local doctor Stewart, if only she felt the same spark for him as she does for Rob…

As Iris, Mary and Sally work to interpret signals from incoming ships, they realise the enemy is somehow one step ahead of their manoeuvres, dropping sea mines under the cover of darkness. Could there be a spy on the island? And can the Wrens prevent disaster striking before it’s too late?

A thrilling and lively Second World War saga for fans of Kate Thompson and Daisy Styles.

Praise for A New Start for the Wrens

'This book is absolutely brilliant. I felt like I was one of the girls and was joining them in their adventure. I really cant wait to read more in this series' ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Reader review
'This book entertained and warmed the cockles of your heart. Being on duty with the Wrens and contributing to the war effort was a great way to spend the afternoon reading and I seriously loved it!' ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Reader review

'Loved this book! I binge read it as I wanted to know what would happen. The three main female characters Iris, Mary and Sally are all so easy to relate to and care about. Love the glimpses of Orkney and the poignant history.' ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Reader review

'A really thoughtful look at the work of the wrens in WWII and a brilliant new trio of girls to get to know. I cannot wait for the next one.' ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Reader review

'Another number one for Vicki Beeby. Loved this WWII story, highly recommended read' ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Reader review

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2022
March 17
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
396
Pages
PUBLISHER
Canelo
SELLER
Canelo Digital Publishing Limited
SIZE
1.2
MB

More Books Like This

Before the Rains Before the Rains
2017
All My Sisters All My Sisters
2015
Sisters of Gold Sisters of Gold
2018
One Sunday Morning One Sunday Morning
2010
The Shipyard Girls on the Home Front The Shipyard Girls on the Home Front
2021
Complete Short Stories Complete Short Stories
2012

More Books by Vicki Beeby

The Ops Room Girls The Ops Room Girls
2020
Christmas with the Ops Room Girls Christmas with the Ops Room Girls
2020
Victory for the Ops Room Girls Victory for the Ops Room Girls
2021
A Wrens' Wartime Christmas A Wrens' Wartime Christmas
2022
Hopeful Hearts for the Wrens Hopeful Hearts for the Wrens
2023
A Wedding for the Bomber Girls A Wedding for the Bomber Girls
2024

Customers Also Bought

The Ragged Valley The Ragged Valley
2022
Welcome to Seabreeze Farm Welcome to Seabreeze Farm
2022
Summer Sundaes at Golden Sands Bay Summer Sundaes at Golden Sands Bay
2023
Coming Home to Heritage Cove Coming Home to Heritage Cove
2022
Sunshine Over Bluebell Cliff Sunshine Over Bluebell Cliff
2020
Someone for Everyone Someone for Everyone
2022

Other Books in This Series

A Wrens' Wartime Christmas A Wrens' Wartime Christmas
2022
Hopeful Hearts for the Wrens Hopeful Hearts for the Wrens
2023