• $5.99

Publisher Description

Disowned by her mother and suffering from unrequited love, a dismayed wallflower steps out of the shadows and into the path of a vindictive killer…

Through a chance introduction, Miss Daphne Clemens finds herself thrust into a dangerous situation, sequestered on a country estate with the one man she wants, but cannot have: Mr. Thomas Reid.

Following the abrupt termination of his engagement, Thomas expected to remain a bachelor forever, but Daphne's captivating presence reopens his heart to the possibility of love... until a body is discovered just outside the estate.

Thomas realizes someone in the household is working with Mr. Franklin Morris, feeding information to a killer intent on murdering every person in the chateau… including Daphne. All evidence points to a servant, but when the girl accused of the crime is found to be innocent, Thomas fears he may be too late to save Daphne's life.

Fans of Stephanie Laurens and Julie Garwood will savor this third installment of the Wiltshire Chronicles which reveals the inner workings of a broken heart, the deviousness of jealously, and the strength of true love. 

Click now to discover the conspirator!

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2019
September 23
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
307
Pages
PUBLISHER
Alyssa Drake Novels
SELLER
Draft2Digital, LLC
SIZE
772.4
KB

Customer Reviews

Lail@LCReads ,

Encore! Encore! My new favorite book of the series!

A Perfect Deception (Book 3 of The Wiltshire Chronicles) by Alyssa Drake
Encore! Encore! My new favorite book of this series! This is a fast pace historical mystery thriller romance had me rooted reading like crazy. It’s action packed to the hilt with multiple plot twist and turns and is all encompassing. I loved the witty and impossibly charming characters. The women were notoriously stubborn and tenacious in finding the most improper ways to adventure and trouble. The storyline follows a truly disturbing psychotic killer and his accomplice who are waging revenge for being cut out of family fortune and for family abusive mistreatment. I enjoyed this intense murder thriller and the sweet romances that turned in to a steamy 3-4 flame fire towards the end of the book.
This could be read as a standalone however, I myself think it’s better read as the series to get the most out of the storyline. My ocd did kick in making me struggle with frustration not being able to wrap Miss Clemens in bubble wrap to fix her unbelievable clumsiness! She did not make it anywhere without injury. Good thing she was such a sweetheart.
This book does have an ending! Not a cliffhanger like book 1-2. However, there are hints of other characters looking for help in finding spouses so we will see what comes next for some of these characters.
Mature Content Note: Please be warned If you are a sensitive reader to the following situations: This book has some gruesome details of torture and murder and a couple intimately detailed steamy love scenes towards the last quarter of the book.
Happy Reading♥️
LailC

Jeanne Richardson ,

Great Book

I've read several books written by Alyssa Drake; she has done a great job at writing a good book; she is becoming one of my favorite authors.

I can’t wait to read more of books her books.

The story line caught my attention at the very beginning and kept me interested throughout the entire book.
I loved the chemistry between the characters.

I received a free copy of this book via booksprout and I’m voluntarily leaving a review.

lfdykes ,

Romantic Suspense at it’s best!

Can I just say hold on because this story definitely took me by surprise from the first page that had my heart clinching. Oh my gosh! A murderer who is so heinous it is unbelievable.
A story with all the elements of a romantic suspense with mystery, murder, mayhem, throw in a little humor and a surprising passionate entanglement and I could not stop reading until I turned the last page.
Thomas had been jilted by Alana, a girl he had asked to marry him when she was offered money to leave him alone. He is heartbroken. But then Daphne comes to his country estate and he begins to have feelings for her.
But it does not stop there! A body is found and is seems that a murderer is on the loose and aiming for others. Thomas has to keep Daphne safe but can he?
Will they catch the villian and be able to find love and happiness? Wow, that is all I can say and not to miss this page turner and will have you thinking about it long after the last page is turned! I read this through Booksprout.

More Books by Alyssa Drake

Other Books in This Series