A Shrine of Murders (Kathryn Swinbrooke Mysteries, Book 1) A Shrine of Murders (Kathryn Swinbrooke Mysteries, Book 1)

A Shrine of Murders (Kathryn Swinbrooke Mysteries, Book 1‪)‬

A thrilling medieval murder mystery

    • 4.5 • 24 Ratings
    • $1.99
    • $1.99

Publisher Description

A series of poisoned pilgrims requires the services of Canterbury's most intrepid sleuth..
.
Paul Doherty introduces his medieval sleuth Kathryn Swinbrooke for the first time in A Shrine of Murders, the first in a gripping mystery series from the acclaimed historical novelist. Perfect for fans of Ellis Peters and Susanna Gregory.

A serial killer haunts 15th-century Canterbury. Kathryn Swinbrooke is an independent practitioner of medicine, discovering the benefits of an apple-rich diet for teeth, and prescribing herbs and vinegar for almost every known malady. Canterbury's tourist trade, already jeopardized by the War of the Roses, is further imperilled by a spate of poisoned pilgrims, each corpse accompanied by the appearance of a line or two of rough verse, in style remarkably similar to Geoffrey Chaucer's soon-to-be famous work. Suspecting the murderer is a doctor, the Archbishop asks for Kathryn's help. In a fascinating hunt that pits her against the august town physicians, Kathryn is aided only by her wits, her foul-mouthed, warm-hearted servant Thomasina, and Colum Murtagh, a powerful Irish mercenary.

What readers are saying about A Shrine of Murders:
'This is well researched, well written and a good story to curl up with on a dark winter's evening'
'Paul Doherty is a superb writer'
'Superb plot and characters. Kathryn is so interesting and insight into the history of the time is so well documented. You feel as if you were there and can even smell it!'

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2013
June 6
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
172
Pages
PUBLISHER
Headline
SELLER
Hachette Digital, Inc.
SIZE
1.4
MB

More Books Like This

The Book of Shadows (Kathryn Swinbrooke Mysteries, Book 4) The Book of Shadows (Kathryn Swinbrooke Mysteries, Book 4)
2013
Saintly Murders (Kathryn Swinbrooke Mysteries, Book 5) Saintly Murders (Kathryn Swinbrooke Mysteries, Book 5)
2013
The Merchant of Death (Kathryn Swinbrooke Mysteries, Book 3) The Merchant of Death (Kathryn Swinbrooke Mysteries, Book 3)
2013
Green Darkness Green Darkness
2015
Blood Between Queens Blood Between Queens
2012
The Queen's Lady The Queen's Lady
2009

More Books by Paul Doherty

The Nightingale Gallery The Nightingale Gallery
2020
And Then You're Dead And Then You're Dead
2017
The House of the Red Slayer The House of the Red Slayer
2020
The White Rose Murders (Tudor Mysteries, Book 1) The White Rose Murders (Tudor Mysteries, Book 1)
2012
Satan's Fire (Hugh Corbett Mysteries, Book 9) Satan's Fire (Hugh Corbett Mysteries, Book 9)
2012
Murder Most Holy Murder Most Holy
2020

Customers Also Bought

An Unholy Alliance An Unholy Alliance
2010
A Conspiracy Of Violence A Conspiracy Of Violence
2010
Blood On The Strand Blood On The Strand
2010
A Deadly Brew A Deadly Brew
2010
The Mark Of A Murderer The Mark Of A Murderer
2010
The Mysterium The Mysterium
2012