A Slow Ruin

A Gripping Literary Thriller Perfect for Book Clubs

    • 2.8 • 6 Ratings
    • $4.99
    • $4.99

Publisher Description

AN INSTANT BESTSELLER and BOOK CLUB PICK!

April 1910. Women’s rights activist Alvera Fields mysteriously vanishes from her home one night, leaving her newborn baby and husband behind, the case never solved.

April 2021. On the anniversary of her great-great-grandmother’s disappearance, Alvera’s namesake Vera Portman vanishes in an eerily similar manner.

Six months later, the police recover a girl’s body from the river. While the family waits in the horror of finding out if it’s Vera, Felicity Portman clings to hope that her missing teenage daughter is still alive. Despite all odds, Felicity senses a link between the decades-apart cases—a mother feels such things in her bones. But all suspicion points to the last person who saw Vera alive: Felicity’s sister-in-law, Marin.

Marin, with her troubled past.
Marin, the poor woman who married into the rich family.
Marin, the only one who knows Felicity’s darkest secret.

As Felicity makes a shocking discovery in Vera’s journal, she questions who her daughter really is. The deeper she digs, the more she’s ensnared in the same mysteries that claimed their ancestor in a terribly slow ruin.

From the USA TODAY bestselling author of Little Deadly Secrets comes a page-turning psychological thriller that weaves an ancient family mystery with tense drama. A book club pick perfect for fans of Celeste Ng's Little Fires Everywhere, Laura Dave's The Last Thing He Told Me, Lisa Jewell, and Ruth Ware.

“An emotionally charged mystery of how a mother must lose her daughter to find herself. Chilling from the first page, gripping until the last.” – reader review

Praise for Pamela Crane:


“It kept me on my toes the whole time I was reading it and trying to guess the twisty ending of what really happened. Fans of thrillers, suspense, and mystery novels will not be disappointed with this book.” – San Francisco Book Review


“You are not prepared for the twists…Pamela Crane has in store for you. Sure to have you at the edge of your seat.” – POPSUGAR


“Crane succeeds at painting families and friendships in vivid detail; women will see their tussles and triumphs in these pages, and will relish the twists and moments of brave camaraderie and bold revenge.” – Booklist

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2021
November 30
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
380
Pages
PUBLISHER
Tabella House
SELLER
INscribe Digital
SIZE
7.7
MB

Customer Reviews

Southern Editor ,

5 Brilliant Stars

Where do I begin? I'm a huge fan of Crane's, and this book was no exception to the incredible story she delivers. Alternating chapters between Felicity and Marin's perspectives, we discover what happened when Felicity's daughter Vera disappeared 6 months ago and how it ties to a 111-year cold case. There's a lot of family history to uncover, though I never could have expected the twist ending. Not in a million years. But it was oh-so-good!

I especially enjoyed Vera's journal entries in the book, getting a glimpse into the mind of a 15-year-old girl in today's world who is feeling lost, alone, battered by what we would otherwise consider a privileged life. Yet so many teen girls will relate to what Vera is going through in an age of social media, revolving-door friendships, and constant competition for a place in this world.

A gripping, emotional, thought-provoking thriller that delivers everything I look for: unpredictable, fast-paced, great writing, and complicated characters. Not enough stars for this book! Love it!

More Books by Pamela Crane

2018
2018
2018
2017
2018
2018

Customers Also Bought

2016
2021
2021
2018
2021
2020

Other Books in This Series