A Spy Above the Clouds

A Novel of WW II

    • 4.5 • 11 Ratings
    • $5.99
    • $5.99

Publisher Description

A SPY ABOVE THE CLOUDS - BOOK 2 OF THE “AMERICAN SPY SISTERS” NOVELS INSPIRED BY THE BRAVE U.S. WOMEN SECRET AGENTS WHO FOUGHT THE NAZIS IN WW II.


For the first time in her pampered life, the headstrong American, Constance Vivier-Clarke, has been pressed into doing something useful for a change. Driving an ambulance for the American Hospital in Paris, “Viv” is caught in the crossfire when the Nazis march into Paris. She makes a harrowing getaway over the Pyrenees into neutral Spain and on to London in hopes of finding a role to play in the fight against fascism.


The mysterious Marcel Delonge, a deputy to General de Gaulle, touts Viv’s successful clandestine escape to British Intelligence, emphasizing her notoriety as a daredevil skier. The “washout” Olympic hopeful is enlisted as a secret agent and courier-on-skis, ferrying messages and weapons to the Resistance in the enemy-infested French Alps.


Jean-Paul Morand, a young physician, is desperate for someone to guide the downed pilots and Jewish orphans he’s hiding in his alpine infirmary to safety in Switzerland. But a question lingers: Is this former playgirl up to the task, or will Viv get herself and her comrades killed—especially when this unlikely member of “Churchill’s Angels” flaunts the most important rule of all and falls in love with a fellow spy and saboteur?


With rumors rife of an Allied invasion, someone has betrayed Viv’s Mountaineer intelligence network, but who? The Allies’ most implausible secret agent still must complete a last, crucial mission—but only if she and the man she loves can survive the final battle in this electrifying WW II romantic thriller based on historical fact.


New York Times & USAToday bestselling author and Emmy Award-winning former broadcast journalist Ciji Ware once again displays her extraordinary talent for weaving historical fact into mesmerizing fiction.


“Thoroughly engaging.” BOOKLIST


Praise for A Spy Above the Clouds


Exquisitely researched, A Spy Above the Clouds is a masterfully compelling new novel about women in war. Set against the majestic backdrop of the French Alps during WWII, American Constance Vivier-Clark’s life long dreams of becoming an Olympic skier are dashed when war breaks out, canceling her Olympic chances. Ciji Ware creates a passionate, thrilling, and dramatic story of the epic heroism, tragedy, and the ultimate glory of one young woman’s path from dilettante to national heroine. Superbly crafted. Recommended for readers of Martha Hall Kelly and Kate Quinn. —Jill Barnett, New York Times Bestselling Author of Sentimental Journey


A Spy Above the Clouds is a mesmerizing tale of courage and redemption with characters so compelling they will haunt you long after you read the last page. The resistance’s fight against stunning odds, is masterfully crafted by Ciji Ware’s pen.…it will leave you breathless. The people and places [are] so real, you’ll feel the snow striking your face, as brave Viv challenges Hitler’s invading forces. —Kimberly Cates, USAToday bestselling author


A Spy Above the Clouds is one of the best books I’ve read in years! I’ve been haunted by it for days ever since…” —Cynthia Wright, New York Times and USAToday bestselling author

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2021
September 3
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
482
Pages
PUBLISHER
Lion’s Paw Publishing
SELLER
Life Events Media LLC
SIZE
3.8
MB

Customer Reviews

Psych Di ,

A Spy Above the Clouds

A Spy Above the Clouds

This riveting historical novel made WWII come alive as I’ve never experienced it; the dedication, constant danger, the minimal diet and other deprivations and how tired of it all they were by the end.

“A Spy Above the Clouds” takes place in the Alps of occupied France, and is the inspiring story of Viv, a beautiful, young woman spy, ferrying Jewish escapees and messages helping to coordinate the French resistance and it is a wartime love story that’s involving, dangerous and tragic.

I’m blown away with the research that had to go into creating the feelings and atmosphere of wartime occupied France and was moved to read both the also excellent first novel of Ciji Ware’s Spy Sister series, “Landing by Moonlight” and several of the books in her bibliography. Masterful.

More Books by Ciji Ware

2013
2010
2013
2014
2011
2019

Customers Also Bought

2021
2021
2020
2021
2021
2020

Other Books in This Series