A Taste of Magic

    • 5.0 • 1 Rating
    • $6.99
    • $6.99

Publisher Description

"An enchanting adventure that will leave readers hungry for more." – Kwame Mbalia, #1 New York Times bestselling author



New York Times bestselling author J. Elle makes her middle grade debut in this magical new series about a Black girl who learns she's a witch and must save her inner-city magic school from closing, perfect for fans of Wendy Mass.



Kyana Turner has just found out the family secret--she's a witch! This means mandatory lessons every Saturday at Park Row Magick Academy, the magic school hidden in the back of her local beauty shop. Learning spells, discovering charms and potion recipes, and getting a wand made to match her hair's curl pattern, Kyana feels like she's a part of something really special. The hardest part will be keeping her magic a secret from non-Magick folks, including her BFF, Nae.



But when the school loses funding, the students must either pay a hefty tuition at the academy across town or have their magic stripped . . . permanently. Determined not to let that happen, Kyana comes up with a plan to win a huge cash prize in a baking competition. After all, she's learned how to make the best desserts from her memaw. But as Kyana struggles to keep up with magic and regular school, prepare for the competition, and keep her magic secret, she wonders if it's possible to save her friendships, too. And what will she do when, in the first round of competition, a forbidden dollop of magic whisks into her cupcakes?



J. Elle's debut middle grade fantasy is full of humor, heart, and mouthwatering desserts.

GENRE
Kids
RELEASED
2022
August 30
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
304
Pages
PUBLISHER
Bloomsbury Children's Books
SELLER
Bookwire Gesellschaft zum Vertrieb digitaler Medien mbH
SIZE
4.4
MB

More Books by J. Elle

2023
2022
2024
2023
2024
2024