Above the Fire

A Novel

    • 4.7 • 12 Ratings
    • $9.99
    • $9.99

Publisher Description

An enthralling debut, Above the Fire crystallizes the relationship between a father and son as they survive a winter of isolation. Perfect for fans of The Dog Stars by Peter Heller and The Road by Cormac McCarthy.

Laboring under a shared loss, Doug and his young son, Tim, set out on a late season backpacking trip through the White Mountains of New Hampshire. They find beauty and solidarity in the outdoors, making friends along the trail and falling into the rhythms of an expedition. But when reports of warfare and social collapse reach the ranger station, Doug—seeking to protect the only family he has left—withdraws even further into the backcountry.

The alpine winter presents its own dangers, as father and son must endure the elements, the solitude, and the ever-present threat of outsiders. As their isolation intensifies, and the nature of the country’s disorder becomes more unsettling, their bond with each other grows more fierce. But as spring approaches, they must decide whether—and how—to confront the perils of a changed world.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2023
December 5
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
285
Pages
PUBLISHER
Blackstone Publishing
SELLER
Blackstone Audio, Inc.
SIZE
539.1
KB

Customer Reviews

MolinaRJ ,

Tense and Vulnerable

The pacing was well plotted, hooking me in as if I was watching a movie. The rest of it a subversion of expectations in the best way possible. Twist and turns could have easily turned this into another version of The Road (a brilliant novel in its own right), but this paints a far more hopeful picture as a reward for calm, calculated perseverance in the face of uncertainty.

More Books Like This

2017
2015
2016
2005
2015
2012

More Books by Michael O'Donnell

2011
2015
2018
2016
2003
2011

Customers Also Bought

2013
2024
2023
2017
2023
2024