Acts of Allegiance Acts of Allegiance

Acts of Allegiance

A Novel

    • 4.0 • 5 Ratings
    • $14.99
    • $14.99

Publisher Description

For readers of The Goldfinch and classic le Carré, a propulsive tale of espionage, betrayal, loyalty, and love, set during the Troubles in Northern Ireland.

Marty Ransom, son of the Captain and heir to a hilltop estate near Waterford in independent Ireland, lives a comfortable, boring life with his tennis-playing, Anglican wife, Sugar, and a job in the Department of External Affairs. Among their closest friends are an Anglo-Irish couple, a banker who was Sugar's childhood flame and his alluring diplomat wife, Alison. But Marty is a man divided. While his father fought with the British Army and found respectability in marriage, Marty's closest childhood friend was his cousin Iggy, the rebel son of a working-class Irish patriot whose gift for tinkering with radio parts has grown into a bomb maker’s skill.

When Marty is lured into keeping tabs on the growing IRA activities in support of the Catholic North, he finds himself walking a tightrope of conflicting yearnings and loyalties, balancing between nations, lovers, and parts of his own past, never knowing whom he can trust. But after Bloody Sunday escalates the violence and the British mount a desperate operation to take out a notorious IRA bomber, he must choose, and risk putting everything he loves most—his wife and young son—as well as his own life, at risk.

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2018
September 11
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
296
Pages
PUBLISHER
Arcade
SELLER
Simon & Schuster Digital Sales LLC
SIZE
1.3
MB

More Books Like This

The Molly Murphy Series, Books 1-3 The Molly Murphy Series, Books 1-3
2015
Our Game Our Game
1995
Strange Loyalties Strange Loyalties
2015
Listen to the Silence Listen to the Silence
2016
The Daemoniac (A Gaslamp Gothic Victorian Paranormal Mystery) The Daemoniac (A Gaslamp Gothic Victorian Paranormal Mystery)
2016
The Wronged The Wronged
2021

More Books by Peter Cunningham

The Trout The Trout
2017
Love in One Edition Love in One Edition
2011
La fedeltà della spia La fedeltà della spia
2023
Il mare e il silenzio Il mare e il silenzio
2020
Le conseguenze del cuore Le conseguenze del cuore
2019
The Russian Prophecy, a poem, occasioned by a remarkable phœnomenon in the heavens, observed in Russia, February 19, 1785. [By Peter Cunningham.] The Russian Prophecy, a poem, occasioned by a remarkable phœnomenon in the heavens, observed in Russia, February 19, 1785. [By Peter Cunningham.]
2012

Customers Also Bought

The Ghosts of Galway The Ghosts of Galway
2017
Tower of Babel Tower of Babel
2021
Lies of Silence Lies of Silence
2018
Mortal Friends Mortal Friends
2022
A Rattle of Bones A Rattle of Bones
2022
Purgatory Purgatory
2019