All Day Is a Long Time All Day Is a Long Time

All Day Is a Long Time

    • 4.7 • 7 Ratings
    • $8.99
    • $8.99

Publisher Description

One of The Millions' "Most Anticipated Books of 2022"

One of PureWow’s "10 Books We Can’t Wait to Read in January"

One of BookShop.org's "Notable New Releases"

One of The New York Times Book Review’s "16 New Books Coming in January"

One of Poets & Writers' "New and Noteworthy Books” 

"David Sanchez's first novel—brilliant, lyrical, hilarious, heartbreaking—is the definitive handbook to hell and back . . . A stunning debut."—Cristina García, author of Dreaming in Cuban

For fans of Denis Johnson and Ocean Vuong: A captivating, searing, and ultimately redemptive debut novel about coming of age on Florida’s drug-riddled Gulf Coast and the enigmatic connection between memory and self.

David has a mind that never stops running. He reads Dante and Moby Dick, he sinks into Hemingway and battles with Milton. But on Florida’s Gulf Coast, one can slip into deep water unconsciously; at the age of fourteen, David runs away from home to pursue a girl and, on his journey, tries crack cocaine for the first time. He’s hooked instantly. Over the course of the next decade, he fights his way out of jail and rehab, trying to make sense of the world around him—a sunken world where faith in anything is a privilege. He makes his way to a tenuous sobriety, but it isn't until he takes a literature class at a community college that something within him ignites.

All Day is a Long Time is a spectacular, raw account of growing up and managing, against every expectation, to carve out a place for hope. We see what it means, and what it takes, to come back from a place of little control—to map ourselves on the world around, and beyond, us. David Sanchez’s debut resounds with real force and demonstrates the redemptive power of the written word.  

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2022
January 18
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
256
Pages
PUBLISHER
Harper
SELLER
HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS
SIZE
4.1
MB

Customer Reviews

-m$v$g ,

“the (0,4) (6,4) line”

Exquisitely gritty, and deceptively powerful.

Excellent work by Sanchez.

Lulu,pj,Maggie ,blue ,

Highly recommend

Beautifully written. Will look forward to another book by this author.

More Books Like This

Wolf in White Van Wolf in White Van
2014
The Silent History The Silent History
2014
Unsound Unsound
2015
The Anniversary The Anniversary
2023
Bodies of Light Bodies of Light
2021
At the Bottom of Everything At the Bottom of Everything
2013

More Books by David Sánchez

Animales de combate Animales de combate
2024
Mercurio El Negociador - Acto I Mercurio El Negociador - Acto I
2022
Designs on Page Designs on Page
2021
Le Bal Le Bal
2021
Soleil d´Hiver Soleil d´Hiver
2021
El Baile El Baile
2021

Customers Also Bought

Strung Out Strung Out
2020
The Final Case The Final Case
2022
Wave Wave
2013
Quitter Quitter
2020
The House Party The House Party
2022
Acceptance Acceptance
2022