Almost American Girl Almost American Girl

Almost American Girl

An Illustrated Memoir

    • 4.5 • 31 Ratings
    • $11.99
    • $11.99

Publisher Description

Harvey Award Nominee, Best Children or Young Adult Book 

A powerful and moving teen graphic novel memoir about immigration, belonging, and how arts can save a life—perfect for fans of American Born Chinese and Hey, Kiddo. 

For as long as she can remember, it’s been Robin and her mom against the world. Growing up as the only child of a single mother in Seoul, Korea, wasn’t always easy, but it has bonded them fiercely together.

So when a vacation to visit friends in Huntsville, Alabama, unexpectedly becomes a permanent relocation—following her mother’s announcement that she’s getting married—Robin is devastated.

Overnight, her life changes. She is dropped into a new school where she doesn’t understand the language and struggles to keep up. She is completely cut off from her friends in Seoul and has no access to her beloved comics. At home, she doesn’t fit in with her new stepfamily, and worst of all, she is furious with the one person she is closest to—her mother.

Then one day Robin’s mother enrolls her in a local comic drawing class, which opens the window to a future Robin could never have imagined.

This nonfiction graphic novel with four starred reviews is an excellent choice for teens and also accelerated tween readers, both for independent reading and units on immigration, memoirs, and the search for identity.

  • GENRE
    Young Adult
    RELEASED
    2020
    January 28
    LANGUAGE
    EN
    English
    LENGTH
    240
    Pages
    PUBLISHER
    Balzer + Bray
    SELLER
    HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS
    SIZE
    484.4
    MB
    AUDIENCE
    Eighth Grade

    More Books Like This

    Awkward Awkward
    2015
    Grug Grug
    2011
    Happy Hippo, Angry Duck Happy Hippo, Angry Duck
    2011
    Uglies: Cutters (Graphic Novel) Uglies: Cutters (Graphic Novel)
    2012
    Crush Crush
    2018
    Creepy Lizards Of The World Creepy Lizards Of The World
    2014

    More Books by Robin Ha

    Cook Korean! Cook Korean!
    2016
    The Fox Maidens The Fox Maidens
    2024
    Cook Korean Cook Korean
    2018
    Koreanisch Kochen! Koreanisch Kochen!
    2019

    Customers Also Bought

    Displacement Displacement
    2020
    I Was Their American Dream I Was Their American Dream
    2019
    This One Summer This One Summer
    2014
    Pashmina Pashmina
    2017
    Be Prepared Be Prepared
    2018
    Parachutes Parachutes
    2020