American Duchess

A Novel of Consuelo Vanderbilt

    • 4.1 • 401 Ratings
    • $12.99
    • $12.99

Publisher Description

Before there was Meghan Markle, there was Consuelo Vanderbilt, the original American Duchess.  Perfect for readers of Jennifer Robson and lovers of Downton Abbey.

Karen Harper tells the tale of Consuelo Vanderbilt, her “The Wedding of the Century” to the Duke of Marlborough, and her quest to find meaning behind “the glitter and the gold.”

On a cold November day in 1895, a carriage approaches St Thomas Episcopal Church on New York City’s Fifth Avenue. Massive crowds surge forward, awaiting their glimpse of heiress Consuelo Vanderbilt. Just 18, the beautiful bride has not only arrived late, but in tears, yet her marriage to the aloof Duke of Marlborough proceeds. Bullied into the wedding by her indomitable mother, Alva, Consuelo loves another. But a deal was made, trading some of the vast Vanderbilt wealth for a title and prestige, and Consuelo, bred to obey, realizes she must make the best of things.

At Blenheim Palace, Consuelo is confronted with an overwhelming list of duties, including producing an “heir and a spare,” but her relationship with the duke quickly disintegrates. Consuelo finds an inner strength, charming everyone from debutantes to diplomats including Winston Churchill, as she fights for women’s suffrage. And when she takes a scandalous leap, can she hope to attain love at last…?

From the dawning of the opulent Gilded Age, to the battles of the Second World War, American Duchess is a riveting tale of one woman’s quest to attain independence—at any price.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2019
February 26
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
368
Pages
PUBLISHER
William Morrow Paperbacks
SELLER
HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS
SIZE
3
MB

Customer Reviews

botanical wolf ,

Loved

Romantic, heroic enjoyed

Book Blast ,

Entertaining

Fun reading if you have a weekend to lounge and are bored with TV.

More Books Like This

2010
2012
2005
2013
2011
2020

More Books by Karen Harper

2006
2016
2014
2020
2017
2010

Customers Also Bought

2021
2021
2019
2019
2020
2018