American Refuge American Refuge
Sunlight Editions

American Refuge

True Stories of the Refugee Experience

    • 2.5 • 2 Ratings
    • $11.99
    • $11.99

Publisher Description

“A moving and timely book that strips away misleading politics to reveal the complexities of real human lives." — Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

A provocative, conversation-sparking exploration of refugee experiences told in their own words, for readers of Karla Cornejo Villavicencio’s The Undocumented Americans and Viet Thanh Nguyen


Forced to leave their homes, they came to America...

In this intimate and eye-opening book, Diya Abdo--daughter of refugees, U.S. immigrant, English professor, and activist—shares the stories of seven refugees. Coming from around the world, they’re welcomed by Every Campus A Refuge (ECAR), an organization Diya founded to leverage existing resources at colleges to provide temporary shelter to refugee families.

Bookended by Diya’s powerful essay "Radical Hospitality" and the inspiring coda “Names and Numbers,” each chapter weaves the individual stories into a powerful journey along a common theme:
  Life Before (“The Body Leaves its Soul Behind”) The Moment of Rupture (“Proof and Persecution”) The Journey (“Right Next Door”) Arrival/Resettlement (“Back to the Margins”) A Few Years Later (“From Camp to Campus”) The lives explored in American Refuge include the artist who, before he created the illustration on the cover of this book, narrowly escaped two assassination attempts in Iraq and now works at Tyson cutting chicken.

We learn that these refugees from Burma, Burundi, Iraq, Palestine, Syria, and Uganda lived in homes they loved, left against their will, moved to countries without access or rights, and were among the 1% of the "lucky" few to resettle after a long wait, almost certain never to return to the homes they never wanted to leave. We learn that anybody, at any time, can become a refugee.

GENRE
Biographies & Memoirs
RELEASED
2022
September 6
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
176
Pages
PUBLISHER
Steerforth Press
SELLER
Penguin Random House LLC
SIZE
4.9
MB

Other Books in This Series

A True History of the United States A True History of the United States
2021
Prejudential Prejudential
2020
Solemn Reverence Solemn Reverence
2021
How Free Speech Saved Democracy How Free Speech Saved Democracy
2022
Had it Coming Had it Coming
2021