• $10.99

Publisher Description

A National Book Award Finalist with five starred reviews and multiple awards!

American Street is an evocative and powerful coming-of-age story perfect for fans of Everything, Everything; Bone Gap; and All American Boys.

In this stunning debut novel, Pushcart-nominated author Ibi Zoboi draws on her own experience as a young Haitian immigrant, infusing this lyrical exploration of America with magical realism and vodou culture.

On the corner of American Street and Joy Road, Fabiola Toussaint thought she would finally find une belle vie—a good life.

But after they leave Port-au-Prince, Haiti, Fabiola’s mother is detained by U.S. immigration, leaving Fabiola to navigate her loud American cousins, Chantal, Donna, and Princess; the grittiness of Detroit’s west side; a new school; and a surprising romance, all on her own.

Just as she finds her footing in this strange new world, a dangerous proposition presents itself, and Fabiola soon realizes that freedom comes at a cost. Trapped at the crossroads of an impossible choice, will she pay the price for the American dream?

A New York Times Notable Book * Publishers Weekly Flying Start * Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year * ALA Booklist Editors' Choice of 2017 (Top of the List winner) * School Library Journal Best Book of the Year * Kirkus Best Book of the Year * BookPage Best YA Book of the Year

GENRE
Young Adult
RELEASED
2017
February 14
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
352
Pages
PUBLISHER
Balzer + Bray
SELLER
HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS
SIZE
1.1
MB
AUDIENCE
Ninth Grade

Customer Reviews

Exploragurl ,

Great read. Hard to put down.

Great read. Hard to put down.

LCP '98 ,

Beautiful and Painful

Being a Haitian Immigrant as well it brings back so many traumatizing memories that is so well described in this book. The storytelling is raw. Ibi Zoboi holds nothing back. I just want to hug all of the characters and send them back to Haiti lol if you’re unsure just buy this book. Take your time with this book.

More Books by Ibi Zoboi