American Street American Street

American Street

    • 4.3 • 105 Ratings
    • $13.99
    • $13.99

Publisher Description

A National Book Award Finalist with five starred reviews and multiple awards!

A New York Times Notable Book * A Time Magazine Best YA Book Of All Time* Publishers Weekly Flying Start * Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year * ALA Booklist Editors' Choice of 2017 (Top of the List winner) * School Library Journal Best Book of the Year * Kirkus Best Book of the Year * BookPage Best YA Book of the Year

An evocative and powerful coming-of-age story perfect for fans of Nicola Yoon and Jason Reynolds

In this stunning debut novel, Pushcart-nominated author Ibi Zoboi draws on her own experience as a young Haitian immigrant, infusing this lyrical exploration of America with magical realism and vodou culture.

On the corner of American Street and Joy Road, Fabiola Toussaint thought she would finally find une belle vie—a good life.

But after they leave Port-au-Prince, Haiti, Fabiola’s mother is detained by U.S. immigration, leaving Fabiola to navigate her loud American cousins, Chantal, Donna, and Princess; the grittiness of Detroit’s west side; a new school; and a surprising romance, all on her own.

Just as she finds her footing in this strange new world, a dangerous proposition presents itself, and Fabiola soon realizes that freedom comes at a cost. Trapped at the crossroads of an impossible choice, will she pay the price for the American dream?

GENRE
Young Adult
RELEASED
2017
February 14
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
352
Pages
PUBLISHER
Balzer + Bray
SELLER
HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS
SIZE
1.1
MB
AUDIENCE
Ninth Grade

Customer Reviews

J.C.E.. ,

Enjoyed!

This was a good book. I enjoyed reading it. I learned a lot and I laughed, cried, and felt all the emotions from this book.

mom eyes ,

Great book.

Had to read this for school and was actually pretty pleasantly surprised. Interesting characters, thought provoking exploration of the struggles of immigration as well as the affect of crime and poverty on families. Would definitely recommend despite some slight draggy bits here and there.

Exploragurl ,

Great read. Hard to put down.

Great read. Hard to put down.

More Books Like This

The Radius of Us The Radius of Us
2017
Fire with Fire Fire with Fire
2013
Pride Pride
2018
All the Rage All the Rage
2015
I Rise I Rise
2022
The Life I'm In The Life I'm In
2021

More Books by Ibi Zoboi

Black Enough Black Enough
2019
Pride Pride
2018
Punching the Air Punching the Air
2020
My Life as an Ice Cream Sandwich My Life as an Ice Cream Sandwich
2019
Star Child Star Child
2022
Nigeria Jones Nigeria Jones
2023

Customers Also Bought

Every Body Looking Every Body Looking
2020
The Teller of Secrets The Teller of Secrets
2021
Leaving Atlanta Leaving Atlanta
2009
One of the Good Ones One of the Good Ones
2021
Internment Internment
2019
The Other Madisons The Other Madisons
2020