Among the Ten Thousand Things Among the Ten Thousand Things

Among the Ten Thousand Things

A Novel

    • 3.2 • 120 Ratings
    • $4.99
    • $4.99

Publisher Description

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY SAN FRANCISCO CHRONICLE AND THE HUFFINGTON POST • Features an exclusive conversation between Julia Pierpont and Lena Dunham

For fans of Jennifer Egan, Jonathan Franzen, Lorrie Moore, and Curtis Sittenfeld, Among the Ten Thousand Things is a dazzling first novel, a portrait of an American family on the cusp of irrevocable change, and a startlingly original story of love and time lost.


Jack Shanley is a well-known New York artist, charming and vain, who doesn’t mean to plunge his family into crisis. His wife, Deb, gladly left behind a difficult career as a dancer to raise the two children she adores. In the ensuing years, she has mostly avoided coming face-to-face with the weaknesses of the man she married. But then an anonymously sent package arrives in the mail: a cardboard box containing sheaves of printed emails chronicling Jack’s secret life. The package is addressed to Deb, but it’s delivered into the wrong hands: her children’s.

With this vertiginous opening begins a debut that is by turns funny, wise, and indescribably moving. As the Shanleys spin apart into separate orbits, leaving New York in an attempt to regain their bearings, fifteen-year-old Simon feels the allure of adult freedoms for the first time, while eleven-year-old Kay wanders precariously into a grown-up world she can’t possibly understand. Writing with extraordinary precision, humor, and beauty, Julia Pierpont has crafted a timeless, hugely enjoyable novel about the bonds of family life—their brittleness, and their resilience.

Praise for Among the Ten Thousand Things

“A luscious, smart summer novel . . . by a blazingly talented young author.”The New York Times Book Review
 
“This book is one of the funniest, and most emotionally honest, I’ve read in a long time.”—Jonathan Safran Foer
 
“Obsessively compelling . . . emotionally sophisticated . . . Among the Ten Thousand Things rises above [other novels] for its imagined structure, sentence-by-sentence punch, and pure humanity.”Vanity Fair
 
“Gripping . . . Pierpont brings this family of four to life in sharply observed detail. . . . An acute observer of social comedy, Ms. Pierpont has a keen eye for the absurd.”The Wall Street Journal
 
“Pierpont’s language is heart-stopping. . . . Between Pierpont’s literary finesse and her captivating characters, [Among the Ten Thousand Things] reads like a page-turner.”Entertainment Weekly (grade: A)
 
“A twisty, gripping story—that packs an emotional wallop.”O: The Oprah Magazine

“There are going to be as many ingenious twists and turns in this literary novel as there are in a top-notch work of suspense like Gone Girl.”—Maureen Corrigan, NPR’s Fresh Air

“Tender, delicately perceptive . . . Pierpont’s voice is wry and confident, and she is a fine anthropologist of New York life.”The Washington Post

“Pierpont displays a precocious gift for language and observation. . . . She captures the minutiae of loneliness that pushes us away from each other and sometimes brings us back.”San Francisco Chronicle

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2015
July 7
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
336
Pages
PUBLISHER
Random House Publishing Group
SELLER
Penguin Random House LLC
SIZE
3.4
MB

Customer Reviews

Unidentifide ,

Among Ten Thousand Things

This book was only ok. I enjoyed the beginning of it and then it pretty much went down from there. Would not recommend.

debbielynn20 ,

Among ten thousand things

This book caught my attention and then became very depressing. I never finished reading it because it made me sad.

NannysDaughter ,

Among the Ten Thousand Things

Okay, I was looking forward to the brilliant first novel for this new voice in fiction. I read carefully, trying to use my insight to find what the author was trying to convey. Well, either she failed or I did. This is not a linear story, and it takes a while to realize that it really doesn't have much substance. Cannot recommend.

More Books Like This

The Witch The Witch
2014
Nine Shiny Objects Nine Shiny Objects
2020
Doctor Sleep Doctor Sleep
2013
The Year We Left Home The Year We Left Home
2011
Five Tuesdays in Winter Five Tuesdays in Winter
2021
The Accomplished Guest The Accomplished Guest
2017

More Books by Julia Pierpont

The Little Book of Feminist Saints The Little Book of Feminist Saints
2018
El pequeño libro de las grandes feministas El pequeño libro de las grandes feministas
2019
Parmi les dix milliers de choses Parmi les dix milliers de choses
2016
Tra le infinite cose Tra le infinite cose
2016

Customers Also Bought

Veronica Veronica
2005
We Could Be Beautiful We Could Be Beautiful
2016
All Girls All Girls
2021
The Burning Girl: A Novel The Burning Girl: A Novel
2017
Tomorrow There Will Be Sun Tomorrow There Will Be Sun
2019
Vigil Harbor Vigil Harbor
2022