• $5.99

Publisher Description

Planning her wedding takes a dangerous turn, when a woman realizes a member of her engagement party would rather kill her than walk down the aisle.

So far, Miss Samantha Hastings' engagement to Benjamin, Lord Westwood, has been tumultuous at best. Kidnapped by the man who murdered her father, nearly beaten to death, and severely poisoned, Samantha barely manages to escape alive.

When the killer reveals his revenge plot had assistance, the Hastings and Westwood families must band together to defend themselves against a new threat, and Samantha concocts a risky plan to draw the accomplice out of hiding. However, this scheme may cost her more than she is willing to sacrifice. There is a traitor in their midst—one who has already committed murder and is willing to do so again.

The masked ball approaches and, by the evening's end, at least one more person will die. Will Samantha survive until her wedding day... or will her imperfect engagement become a grizzly prelude to murder?

The second book into this intriguing series drags you deeper into the mystery, surrounding the reader in a dizzying array of passion, intrigue, and the richness of the Victorian era. In the vein of Deanna Raybourn and Amanda Quick, this darker installment of the Wiltshire Chronicles will reveal the violent nature of man. 

Click now to capture the culprits.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2019
June 25
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
316
Pages
PUBLISHER
Alyssa Drake
SELLER
Draft2Digital, LLC
SIZE
1
MB

Customer Reviews

Lail@LCReads ,

The creatively written storyline commands your attention to the end.

An Imperfect Engagement (Book 2 of The Wiltshire Chronicles) by Alyssa Drake
Is a fast pace historical mystery thriller romance. The creatively written storyline commands your attention to the end. The story continues from The Perfect Plan Book 1 of the Wiltshire Chronicles where a string of murder’s and attempted murder’s have rocked a family to its core. A ruthless and persistent killer has been identified but not caught, and he is not going to leave anyone alive that has done him wrong and his list is very long. The one thing the family doesn’t know is who is his dangerous accomplice? The storyline is creative, action packed, with multiple complex plots that keep you guessing what’s next. Great world building and fabulously strong and stubbornly willed characters, armed with their sharp tongues and witty banter, brings out laughs while spinning complex plots twist and turns to keep you guessing what will happen next. I enjoyed this historical mystery adventure with steaming hot 3-4 flame romance! This could be read as a standalone however, it’s better read as a series. Yes, this book also ended a cliffhanger with shocking admissions to excite the reader for the next book in the series.
Mature Content Note: This book has detailed murder and physical battery plots by a male to female victims, (hitting, etc., but no sexual abuse) and a lot of steamy love scenes. I personally did not feel the situations were over the top, but be warned If you are sensitive to these situations.
Happy Reading♥️
LailC

lfdykes ,

Not to be Missed!

Prepare to be pulled into a engaging story that will not let go until the end! Wow. That is the least I can say and in this second installment of the Wiltshire Chronicles, it only makes me long for book 3! This is one of those stories that you do need to read the first in the series to understand all of the cast of characters and what is going on. But trust me, it is worth it! An amazing heroine, Samantha Hastings is dodging being murdered and with the help of her bethrothed Lord Benjamin Westwood, the stakes seem high.
This book has it all. Humor ( yes I was laughing out loud at times!), suspense, mystery, deep love and a page turning plot until the end! I cannot wait for more and I highly recommend this series! I read this through BookSprout

Jeanne Richardson ,

Good Book

This is the 4th book I've read written by Alyssa Drake; she has done a great job at writing a good book; I can’t wait to read more of her books.

The story line caught my attention at the very beginning and kept me interested throughout the entire book.

I loved the chemistry between the characters.

I received a free copy of this book via booksprout and I’m voluntarily leaving a review.

More Books by Alyssa Drake

Other Books in This Series