An Island of Secrets An Island of Secrets

An Island of Secrets

    • 4.3 • 42 Ratings
    • $2.99
    • $2.99

Publisher Description

For fans of Dinah Jefferies, Victoria Hislop, Lucinda Riley and Rosanna Ley, this is a stunning and sweeping WW2 novel that shows a side to the war not often seen before.

That was then…

Seventy-five years ago, British SOE spy Guy Barclay was forced to leave behind the woman he loved in war-ravaged Yugoslavia.

…This is now

As ninety-three-year-old Guy’s days draw to a close, he asks his granddaughter, Leo Holmes, to go looking for answers. Given that her marriage has imploded and her City job is on the verge of killing her, Leo agrees and rents a house on the island of Vis, where her grandfather was stationed in the Second World War.

But as Leo’s search takes her down unexpected roads – and into the path of a gorgeous local, Andrej Pintaric – she begins to wonder if this journey down memory lane might yield unexpected results for more than just her beloved grandfather…

Readers can’t get enough of this stunning novel:

‘A beautifully written book where the two timelines blend seamlessly together…one that will stay with me’ Muriel

‘Readers will be delighted to explore a corner of WW2 that hasn’t been written about in British romantic fiction…Glynn capably places her readers within the history-making days of 1944 and allows them to experience what it was like for people who lived there’ Norma

‘I loved this book and was captivated from the beginning…thought-provoking story of family, love and heartbreak’ Carol

‘A beautifully written, atmospheric book…everything about this book is just so perfect and beautiful, the writing, a compelling storyline, the characters and setting!’ Ruby

Reviews

'I was fascinated, invested in each character, and I couldn't put it down.' Angela Petch, bestselling author of The Tuscan Secret

'This is the kind of book that's hard to put away, and I didn't want it to end' Natalie Normann

'Eva Glyn writes with empathy and compassion… a fabulous book' Kitty Wilson

'I could feel the heat of the sun on my skin, taste the food and hold the warmth of the olives in my hands' Claire Dyer

About the author

Eva Glyn writes escapist relationship-driven fiction with a kernel of truth at its heart. She loves to travel and finds inspiration in beautiful places and the stories they hide.

Her last holiday before lockdown was a trip to Croatia, and the country’s haunting histories and gorgeous scenery have proved fertile ground, driven by her friendship with a tour guide she met there. His wartime story provided the inspiration for The Olive Grove and his help in creating a realistic portrayal of Croatian life has proved invaluable. Her second novel set in the country, An Island of Secrets, is a dual timeline looking back to World War 2.

Eva lives in Cornwall, although she considers herself Welsh, and has been lucky enough to have been married to the love of her life for more than twenty-five years. She also writes as Jane Cable.

GENRE
Romance
RELEASED
2022
May 25
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
384
Pages
PUBLISHER
One More Chapter
SELLER
HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS
SIZE
2.5
MB

More Books Like This

Nine Months to Change His Life Nine Months to Change His Life
2014
Skin Heat Skin Heat
2011
Calum Calum
2020
Running Strong Running Strong
2019
A Captain's Heart A Captain's Heart
2020
Gone to Dust Gone to Dust
2017

More Books by Eva Glyn

The Olive Grove The Olive Grove
2021
The Collaborator’s Daughter The Collaborator’s Daughter
2023
The Missing Pieces of Us The Missing Pieces of Us
2021
The Dubrovnik Book Club The Dubrovnik Book Club
2024

Customers Also Bought

The Orchard Girls The Orchard Girls
2021
After the War After the War
2022
A Wartime Secret A Wartime Secret
2022
One Last Letter from Greece One Last Letter from Greece
2022
I'll Be Seeing You I'll Be Seeing You
2011
Her Forgotten Promise Her Forgotten Promise
2023