• $4.99

Publisher Description

Proud of Their Heritage and Sustained by Their Faith, They Came to Tame a New Land

She had promised herself that once they left the fjords of Norway, she would not look back. After three long years of scrimping and saving to buy tickets for their passage to America, Roald and Ingeborg Bjorklund, along with their son, Thorliff, finally arrive at the docks of New York City. It was the promise of free land that fed their dream and lured them from their beloved home high above the fjords of Norway in 1880. Together with Roald's brother Carl and his family, they will build a good life in a new land that promises untold wealth and vast farmsteads for their children. As they join the throngs of countless immigrants passing through Castle Garden, they soon discover that nothing is as they had envisioned it. Appalled by the horrid stories of fellow immigrants bilked of all their money and forced to live in squalid living conditions, the Bjorklunds continue their long journey by train as far as Grand Forks. From there a covered wagon takes them into Dakota Territory, where they settle on the banks of the Red River. But there was no way for them to foresee the price they will have to pay to wrest a living from the indomitable land. The virgin prairie refuses to yield its treasure without a struggle. Will they be strong enough to overcome the hardships of that first winter?

Fiction & Literature
May 1
Baker Publishing Group
Baker Book House Company

Customer Reviews

Eilerslk ,

Untamed Land

Very good story!

Jenyenifer ,

Hard to put down

Amazing and inspirational. This book is similar to Little House on the Prairie, but told from a woman's perspective. The main character fights for survival in a male dominated world with so many hardships to overcome. Loved it.

JayCee1941 ,

Untamed Land

One of the best novels that I have read in a long time. It almost feels like a biography rather than a fiction…the characters are so real. Can hardly wait to read other books by Lauraine.

More Books by Lauraine Snelling

Other Books in This Series