• $4.99

Publisher Description

Madeline Fraser, radio talk show host extraordinaire, had a natural dread of dead air. So when one of her on-air guests signed off at the mike after drinking a glass of a sponsor’s beverage, it was a broadcaster’s nightmare come true. Enter Nero Wolfe. He agrees to take the case, with his sizable fee contingent on his solving the murder. But to Wolfe’s surprise, everyone connected to the case now lies in unison about it. And as the portly detective soon discovers, the secret worth lying about only hides another worth killing for.
Introduction by Maan Meyers
“It is always a treat to read a Nero Wolfe mystery. The man has entered our folklore.”—The New York Times Book Review
A grand master of the form, Rex Stout is one of America’s greatest mystery writers, and his literary creation Nero Wolfe is one of the greatest fictional detectives of all time. Together, Stout and Wolfe have entertained—and puzzled—millions of mystery fans around the world. Now, with his perambulatory man-about-town, Archie Goodwin, the arrogant, gourmandizing, sedentary sleuth is back in the original seventy-three cases of crime and detection written by the inimitable master himself, Rex Stout.

Mysteries & Thrillers
February 1
Random House Publishing Group
Penguin Random House LLC

Customer Reviews

Fax Paladin ,

Wolfe's Moriarty

The case is crazy enough at the start: a radio-show guest is poisoned to death live on the air. But when Nero Wolfe and Archie Goodwin follow a lead to a particular address, they get a phone call warning them off the case -- and thus begins a three-book duel of wits between Wolfe and his toughest foe yet, the archcriminal Arnold Zeck.

It's a fun read and one of my favorites -- just be aware that this and the sequel, "The Second Confession," are the rare Wolfe novels that end in any sort of "to be continued" (the cases themselves conclude satisfactorily, but the struggle against Zeck carries through to the third book, "In the Best Families").

More Books by Rex Stout

Other Books in This Series