• $8.99

Publisher Description

The New York Times Bestseller!

“Absolutely riveting.” —Alexandra Bracken, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Darkest Minds

This vividly rendered novel reads like HBO’s Game of Thrones . . . if it were set in the Ottoman Empire. Ambitious in scope and intimate in execution, the story’s atmospheric setting is rife with political intrigue, with a deftly plotted narrative driven by fiercely passionate characters and a fearsome heroine. Fans of Victoria Aveyard’s THE RED QUEEN and Sabaa Tahir’s AN EMBER IN THE ASHES won’t want to miss this visceral, immersive, and mesmerizing novel, the first in the And I Darken series.


NO ONE EXPECTS A PRINCESS TO BE BRUTAL. And Lada Dragwlya likes it that way. Ever since she and her gentle younger brother, Radu, were wrenched from their homeland of Wallachia and abandoned by their father to be raised in the Ottoman courts, Lada has known that being ruthless is the key to survival. She and Radu are doomed to act as pawns in a vicious game, an unseen sword hovering over their every move. For the lineage that makes them special also makes them targets.

Lada despises the Ottomans and bides her time, planning her vengeance for the day when she can return to Wallachia and claim her birthright. Radu longs only for a place where he feels safe. And when they meet Mehmed, the defiant and lonely son of the sultan, who’s expected to rule a nation, Radu feels that he’s made a true friend—and Lada wonders if she’s finally found someone worthy of her passion.

But Mehmed is heir to the very empire that Lada has sworn to fight against—and that Radu now considers home. Together, Lada, Radu, and Mehmed form a toxic triangle that strains the bonds of love and loyalty to the breaking point.

From New York Times bestselling author Kiersten White comes the first book in a dark, sweeping new series in which heads will roll, bodies will be impaled . . . and hearts will be broken.

“A dark and twisty fantasy . . . think Game of Thrones, but with teens.”—Seventeen
 
“Sinister, suspenseful, and unapologetically feminist.”—Buzzfeed
 
“Will completely spin you into another time and place.”—Bustle
 
“Takes no prisoners, offering up brutal, emotional historical fiction.”—NPR.org

An ALA Rainbow List Top Ten Selection

GENRE
Young Adult
RELEASED
2016
June 28
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
496
Pages
PUBLISHER
Random House Children's Books
SELLER
Penguin Random House LLC
SIZE
13.5
MB

Customer Reviews

Ellie. Gregg ,

Unexpectedly awesome

Who would of thought that a reimagining of vlad the impaler as a teenage girl would be so good? I’ve read previous works by this author and although I enjoyed them, the were pretty forgettable, making And I darken stand in a league of its own compared to them. I’m recommending this book to any fan of game of thrones, throne of glass or any series with kickass main characters and intricate plot lines.

firstflight36 ,

Ok book

This book was good, but then it wasn’t. It had no motive, and just kind of dwindled on. I liked the first half, but then nooo. I just had to end it because I got bored throughout the second half of the book.😔

Hashes kakapos ,

Best book ever

I loved the first book and couldn't wait for the second one. I love the feminist vibe

More Books by Kiersten White

Other Books in This Series