• $7.99

Publisher Description

“A seamless fusion of alternate history, postapocalyptic fiction, and espionage-fueled thriller.”—Publishers Weekly

When an inexplicable wave of energy slams into North America, the world is plunged into turmoil—as wars erupt, borders vanish, and the great and powerful fall.

Against this dramatic backdrop, three very different women navigate the chaos. Deep in a South American jungle, special agent Caitlin Monroe will stop at nothing to discover how a master terrorist escaped a secret detention center in French Guadeloupe to strike a fatal blow in New York City. Sofia Peiraro, a grieving teenager trying to rebuild her life in Kansas City, is drawn back to Texas by a vicious murder. And in the fashionable bars and boutiques of Darwin, the seething, growing freeport in Australia’s deep north, the British-born aristocrat-turned-smuggler Lady Julianne Balwyn hides a pistol in the small of her lovely back. She is hunting for the man who is hunting her. As these women fight for survival, justice, and revenge, humanity itself struggles toward its better angels—and to purge its worst demons.

“Birmingham knows how to write action. . . . I enjoy world building stories as well as post-apocalyptic tales. This is definitely a little of both.”—Bill Lawhorn, SFRevu

“A rollicking ride . . . fast-paced and thought-provoking.”—
The Sun-Herald (Sydney, Australia)

Sci-Fi & Fantasy
April 10
Random House Publishing Group
Penguin Random House LLC

Customer Reviews

Paul1701 ,

"Without Warning" trilogy

Somehow I ended up reading "After America" & "Angels of Vengeance" first & then reading "Without Warning". My love of sci-fi/fantasy/alternate history found a gold mine in this trilogy. Each book was equally interesting & hard to put down. I bought "After America" in paperback & the other two in iBooks. I highly recommend this trilogy by John Birmingham. I just wonder, with the way "Angels" ended, if there might be a sequel in the offing? Thanks John for an awesome series!👍

Rdubesq ,


This last one makes me wish I had skipped the whole series.

More Books by John Birmingham

Other Books in This Series