• $2.99

Publisher Description

Anne of Green Gables, by Lucy Maud Montgomery, is the classic story of the exuberant, redheaded orphan girl, Anne Shirley, who arrives unwanted at Green Gables – the home of Matthew and Marilla Cuthbert in the small town of Avonlea on Prince Edward Island, Canada.

This wonderfully funny story follows young Anne (with an “e”) as she finds people to love, finds her place in the world, and eventually grows into her own after quite a few hilarious and heartrending mishaps and misunderstandings. In writing the story of Anne, Lucy Maud Montgomery managed to portray life the way it was meant to be for young teenagers, the way we all want it to be – full of triumphs, challenges, caring friends and the sometimes tempestuous beginnings of love.

Internationally acclaimed and possibly the most popular Canadian novel ever written, Anne of Green Gables has been charming readers of all ages throughout the world for over a century. Mark Twain wrote to Lucy Maud Montgomery about the character Anne Shirley saying she was “the dearest, and most lovable child in fiction since the immortal Alice.”

ARose Books strives to maintain the original character of all the old books we republish. As such, our publication of "Anne of Green Gables" contains all the original spelling as published in 1908. We have not updated the spelling of words that have changed over the years, nor have we Americanized any words that were originally printed with British spelling. We hope that you will enjoy reading this story in its classic form.

Illustrations: 3 original illustrations from the 1908 publication.

The complete Anne of Green Gables series includes:

1) Anne of Green Gables

2) Anne of Avonlea

3) Anne of the Island

4) Anne of Windy Poplars

5) Anne’s House of Dreams

6) Anne of Ingleside

7) Rainbow Valley

8) Rilla of Ingleside

Fiction & Literature
August 20
ARose Books
Ingram DV LLC

More Books by L.M. Montgomery