Publisher Description

An Apple Books Classic edition.

Mark Twain called the protagonist of this 1908 book the “most lovable child in fiction.” Anne Shirley, a hopeful 11-year-old, is an orphan. The beloved novel begins as Anne is (wrongly) assigned to the care of aging brother and sister Matthew and Marilla Cuthbert, who had asked for a boy to help work on Green Gables, their family farm in Canada’s Prince Edward Island province.

Initially disappointed, Matthew and Marilla are quickly won by Anne’s spirited personality - as are we. Anne wants nothing more than a home, yet try as she might to fit in, her manners are lacking. She shouts in the face of injustice. She talks constantly, often about imaginary friends and made-up events. She accidentally serves wine to her first real friend, sending her home drunk. Will Anne’s irrepressible spunk keep her from finding a permanent place at Green Gables?

For over 100 years, readers have fallen in love with Canadian author L.M. Montgomery’s coming-of-age story and its freckly, redheaded heroine. Over the course of the 11 books in the series, we delight in watching Anne grow from an impulsive, charming child into a mature and kind young woman.

Young Adult
June 1
Public Domain
Public Domain

Customer Reviews

Michael Digrazia ,

A beautifully written book.

This is the second time reading this book. The first time was in my teen years and I read all of the Montgomery books. I love her take on life and the poetic writing. Now I am an adult and have little ones myself and the book is just as exciting. Maybe even better now that I can see it not only through the eyes of Anne, but Marilla too. again I have fallen in love with all the characters and will read ALL her books again.

NotFtPrint ,


The story is, of course, enchanting. But there are several typos. Sometimes the font changes sizes unaccountably. Some punctuation is wrong, and a occasionally a word is repeated. Still, the book is worth reading.

chrisjenp ,

Anne of green gabels

I don't like it at all its boring and its about old times

More Books by L.M. Montgomery

Other Books in This Series