Apprentice Of The Dead Apprentice Of The Dead
#1 - The Apprentice Of Anubis

Apprentice Of The Dead

    • 4.0 • 8 Ratings
    • $2.99
    • $2.99

Publisher Description

Mummification lessons, a new jackal familiar, and temple politics...Ani never expected serving Anubis to be this complicated.

When Ani becomes the first apprentice to be Blessed by Anubis in years, she finds herself thrown into a world she only ever hoped to be part of.

Between learning how to an embalmer, being the new owner of a sacred jackal, and a budding rivalry turned friendship with the High Priest's son, Ani has her hands full.

But when she uncovers a plot that could bring the temple to its knees, she has to decide whether to risk her place at the temple, or let the injustice slide by unnoticed.

Can she stop the plot before it's too late?


Apprentice Of The Dead is book 1 in the Apprentice Of Anubis, an urban fantasy series based on Egyptian mythology and featuring a slow-burn friends-to-lovers workplace romantic subplot, a jackal familiar, and the duties of an embalmer.

If you love Egyptian mythology, alternative versions of the modern day, temple politics, slow-burn workplace romance, and a world where the gods are real, then start the Apprentice Of Anubis series today with Apprentice Of The Dead.

Sci-Fi & Fantasy
October 9
Drowlgon Press
Draft2Digital, LLC

Customer Reviews

JorjaRae ,

An interesting twist on history

This first book in the series had a lot of world and character building in it. There was a minor mystery which propelled the plot forward. I look forward to the rest of the series.

I received a free copy of this book and am voluntarily leaving a review.

michelle-454 ,

Ani’s First Adventure at the Temple

Ankhesenamun or Ani for short has always dreamed of being a priestess at Anubis’ temple. The temple calls to her every time she passes it. Unfortunately Anubis’ temple does not accept many priestesses so her chances are very slim.

Ani goes to the Day of Choosing to see if she will be chosen by any of the Egyptian gods to join their temple to be a priestess. Ani is even less likely to join any temple by being Blessed. As Ani stands awaiting her fate a jackal from Anubis slowly walks towards her and stops in front of her. Ani becomes the first apprentice to be Blessed by Anubis in years. Ani is also the only female at the temple. Ani wants to prove to everyone that she belongs at Anubis’ temple.

She now has a jackal named Matia. She must learn to care for her jackal. Ani has many lessons she must learn to become a Priestess to Anubis. Ani clashes with the high priest’s son Nik a few times. They eventually get paired together to be partners in learning how to care for the dead and prepare them for the afterlife. They have lessons in embalming and other mummification processes.

Ani and Nik stumble upon a plot that could destroy the temple. Ani and Nik must do what they can to save the temple. Will they be able to save the temple? The mystery that they find themselves involved in will captivate you. As they unravel the mysterious conspiracy Ani and Nick must avoid the dangerous criminals who are involved. Have they actually found everyone involved? Ani and Nik have chemistry together. Could there be something more to their relationship in the future?

If you love Egyptian mythology and history you will enjoy this book. The concept of Egypt never falling to the Roman Empire is very intriguing. I look forward to reading more about this modern Egyptian world that Laura has created. This is book one and a great start. The story flows and keeps you hooked on the plot. I cannot wait to read the next book in the series. I received a free copy of this book from Booksprout and I am voluntarily leaving a review.

MissMreow ,


So so so cool. I love Egyptian anything and this book just overflowed. It keeps s you on your toes and keeps you coming back for more. I can’t wait to read the next one!.

I received a free copy of this book and am voluntarily leaving a review.

More Books Like This

Harpy's Mission Harpy's Mission
Death's Embrace (Death's Queen #3) Death's Embrace (Death's Queen #3)
Grove Captain Grove Captain
Shadow Seer Shadow Seer
Doubleblind Doubleblind
Wanderlust Wanderlust

More Books by Laura Greenwood

Awakened Princess Awakened Princess
The Dryad's Pawprint The Dryad's Pawprint
Servant of Chaos Servant of Chaos
Crimson Kisses: A Zodiac Shifters Paranormal Romance Anthology Crimson Kisses: A Zodiac Shifters Paranormal Romance Anthology
Shattered Illusions Shattered Illusions
From the Deeps From the Deeps

Customers Also Bought

The Griffin Sanctuary Volume 1 The Griffin Sanctuary Volume 1
Quest Of The Valkyrie: The Afterlife Academy: Valkyrie Books 1-4 Quest Of The Valkyrie: The Afterlife Academy: Valkyrie Books 1-4
The Templar Series Books 1-3 The Templar Series Books 1-3
Witchy Wednesday Witchy Wednesday
Bigfoot Bay Witches Bigfoot Bay Witches
Imp Series Books 1-3 Imp Series Books 1-3

Other Books in This Series

Initiate Of The Jackal Initiate Of The Jackal
Novice Of The Afterlife Novice Of The Afterlife
Secrets Of The Chosen Secrets Of The Chosen
Priestess Of The Tombs Priestess Of The Tombs
Creator Of The Curse Creator Of The Curse
Succession Of The Temple Succession Of The Temple